Lots of Pictures and Salta, Argentina


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
February 16th 2008
Published: February 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I left Buenos Aires and boy was it hard to leave! I fell in love with the city, the people, the food, the arts, and everything that has to do with their culture. I only meant to stay there for a week or two but that soon turned into a month. Having the freedom to make the decision to stay in Buenos Aires longer felt good and is one reason why I love having tons of time for traveling. I stayed in Hostel One, which ended up becoming my home. I cooked dinner there every day, the employees all new my name and treated me like I was one of them, most spoke Spanish so it was great practice, and I made excellent friends there! I visited the cemetary where Evita is burried, visited most areas of Buenos Aires, and did TONS Of walking.. I love scoping out every area of a city. The last week there I spent alof of time with my buddy Jacob from Norway. We did so many awesome things... we went to the Bodies Exhibition, saw a live art performance at a theater called Nocturnal, went to a club that was seriously just like the one
DSCN4437DSCN4437DSCN4437

german friends
from Saturday Night Fever and we dressed up all 70s for it, and we just partied alot with everyone at the hostel. I really want to go back to Buenos Aires sometime in the near future... perhaps stay there for a year. Anyone want to come?

I had to leave because I need to get to Peru. I am back in Salta, Argentina because there are buses that head to Chile from here. I thought I would be here for 2 days top but all buses to Chile are booked till the 21st. So, I’m here for a week. It sets me back A LOT but it happened for a reason. I try to make the best of all situations… well you got no choice to! Already I have done so much and I have only been here for 2 nights! Yesterday, I went on a road trip to Cachi which is a town 6 hours away with three German guys who rented a car. All I have to say is that thank god I wasn’t driving! On the way to Cachi, we traveled through the Calchaqui Valleys (windy roads along the edges of the mountains with tons of
FSCN4472FSCN4472FSCN4472

me and the river in cachi, argentina
curves) and the Los Cardones National Park (area filled with Cacti). Every time we took a sharp turn along the edges of the mountain I held on to my oh shit handles till my fingers turned white. I don’t get it. How do people know if another car is coming on the other side of the turn? Because Im tellin ya, if there was a car shooting around the other side of some of the curves we took… both cars would be at the bottom of the mountain. DEAD. BUT we did make it to Cachi, LUCKILY. Cachi is a very small town and there isn’t much to do there. We got some ice cream and chilled out by one of the rivers we found. It was nice to be out of the city and to have some fresh air.

Tomorrow I am going to fly like the condors over the Juramento River. I will be attached to cable-wire about 500 feet high. I’m taking the longest canopy tour in South America and will be reaching about 30kph. WISH ME LUCK! =P



Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

DSCN4434DSCN4434
DSCN4434

people ride horses in the streets
DSCN4478DSCN4478
DSCN4478

cow tongue
DSCN4421DSCN4421
DSCN4421

posing on an dangerous bridge
DSCN4418DSCN4418
DSCN4418

we found a bridge that is falling apart on our way to Cachi
DSCN4428DSCN4428
DSCN4428

our car!
DSCN4470DSCN4470
DSCN4470

These are the girls I was living with in Buenos Aires.. girls on the left are from Brazil and the one next to me is from Germany
DSCN4330DSCN4330
DSCN4330

Evitas grave
DSCN4324DSCN4324
DSCN4324

Buenos Aires Cemetary
Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

I walked these streets every day
Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

San Telmo
DSCN4343DSCN4343
DSCN4343

in my favorite bar.. Like a Lion.. they play only Reggae!
DSCN4388DSCN4388
DSCN4388

my favorite street artist, Elodio!
Photo 1Photo 1
Photo 1

tango dancers


21st February 2010

Yes!
Hey Shannon, You travel just like My Sweetie used to at your age; take your time and move as the mood strikes. Now that we're old duffers we're planning a trip to Argentina and Chile and you've given us some excellent information with your spirited account of the goings on. This is stupid, but somehow I just have this idea that I am going to fall in love with Buenos Aires too. Nice going, Ray

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0669s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb