Flying with the condors =)


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Salta » Salta
February 18th 2008
Published: February 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I went canopying over the Juramento Canyon. To be quite honest, I was more worried about hiking up the mountain than flying across it on little dinky ziplines. I always get nervous when hiking in groups because nobody wants to be the fat kid who is huffing and puffing because they are so out of breath. BUT! to your surprise well more to my surprise.. i was one of the few who was barely out of breath. I think all my trekking in Bolivia in the high altitude has turned me into a tough girl who can conquer any hill or mountain. =P We made it to the top of the mountain where the first zipline was. The tour guide pointed to me and said can you step over here real quick. Im thinking I was in the way of something and within 1 second i am attached to the wire. There are atleast 15 other people he could have picked to go first but nope he picked me! I didnt even have enough time to process what I was soon to be doing. And with one big push, there i was flying right across the rivers to another mountain pretty damn far away! Most of them are 500 feet high and is about 1640 feet long. We reach a little over 30 mphs. IT WAS AWESOME THOUGH! The first one i was in shock and so focused on the instructions i was given that I didnt even look down really. But the next 3 lines i was lookin all over the place. haha. It got a little scary because the wind started to pick up and it was really easy for you to lose control and to start spinning around on the wire. We werent supposed to grip the wire really at all because then that would slow us down or stop us completely so it got a little stressful/confusing. I want to do it again. does anyone know if we have canopy tours in Mass, maine, vermont, or new hampshire?

Everyone else who went on the canopy tour went white water rafting. I didnt go because A. I am a poor traveler, B. The level is only 3.. you dont get tossed off or banged up at all! (NO FUN), and C. I want to go rafting in Cusco. I got the place at 8 am and
DSCN4539DSCN4539DSCN4539

im smiling because I survived!!!
chilled out by the river and mountains till about 3 for when it was time to go to do the canopy tour.

All in all it was a relaxing and exciting day! I love how my stay in salta is turning out so far. I love the unexpected!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

DSCN4531DSCN4531
DSCN4531

i climbed this baby in 20 minutes. Round of applause please.
DSCN4536DSCN4536
DSCN4536

weeeee!
DSCN4534DSCN4534
DSCN4534

can you spot the person?
bus ridebus ride
bus ride

some people from argentina that i met... they were a lively bunch..
DSCN4525DSCN4525
DSCN4525

notice the rainbow around the sun?
lakelake
lake

these are my views from the river


23rd February 2008

oh my gosh shannon i think i would have shit my pants if i did that!!!!! i'm nervous just looking at the zipline! you are so awesome for doing that. miss you, be safe!!
11th March 2008

Zip Lines
Hi Shannon, I work at Comcast with your Dad, he has shared your site with many of us.. You are one incredible awesome young woman I am soooo impressed and envyiess of your guts.. I guess you could say anyways I ziplined in Costa Rica 2 yrs ago and in talking to some people I beleive there is a zipline in NH ... but I am sure it cant compare to what you have experienced.. safe journey for you the rest of your trip.. thanks for the awesome stories.. Gena Hunt....

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb