I have arrived in the Paris of South America!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
June 26th 2007
Published: August 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hola!!! I’m here I’m in Argentina at Rominas' house hanging out with her cat “Yoel” while she is working! So, getting here was so much easier than my last flights everything pretty much went without problem! Just before we were about to land the Pilot announces that the temperature in Argentina is 3 degrees! Meanwhile I’ve got my thongs on! I was freezing when as soon as I walked out of the airport I’m surprised I didn’t get frostbite! Getting myself to Rominas’ house wasn’t too bad but it was a little bit daunting in parts. My flight arrived really early 6am so it seemed a bit silly for Romina to get up at 4am just to meet me so armed with Rominas’ address and that was about it I somehow managed to get myself onto a bus and then change buses and get dropped me off at 2 connecting streets near Rominas’. It was an interesting experience took about 2hrs, the roads are crazy here and city is huge and I mean huge - 3million people live in the city and then another13 million live in the suburbs! Everyone was talking in Spanish (as you would expect) and it was hard to know what was going on and I just had to hope that I had managed to communicate myself well enough that I was going to end up in the right place! And as Romina lives right in the city I had no chance of following where we were on my map. I didn’t want to take a taxi though because even if I had managed to get an honest taxi driver it still would have cost at least $70us. The city is huge and is lined with huge really old buildings & parks every few blocks. The temperature during the day is approx 17 degrees which isn’t too bad but I still need to buy some warmer clothes! For those of you that I haven’t had a chance to tell I’m doing to Tesol course here in Argentina so that I can teach English here, my course goes for a month and then hopefully I will find work - I have a six-month working Visa. My course doesn’t start until next week so at the moment I’m just relaxing at Rominas’ and looking for a place to move to, it’s great having her to help she has been amazing since I got here and it’s awesome to have her advice on what areas not to live in - dangerous ect! So hopefully by the end of this I will have found my new home! OK everybody until next time Adios!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb