First Day of Class!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
February 6th 2007
Published: February 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone! So far I love it here!!! I just finished my first day of class, and the five hours actually went by pretty fast. Who knows if it will be like that every day. But I really like the city...it is super pretty!! The area that I live in is a nice area also, so that is nice. Everyone on my program, except for two people, did not know anyone before this trip, so we are all in the same boat. I could not ask to be surrounded by nicer people. I feel like I have known my family and my friends that I have made so far here a lot longer than just a few days.

As far as activitiy goes, I have been really busy. Every day our program has taken us to different parts of the city and we just spend all day walking around it so that we become familiar with it. The food here is AMAZING. I joined a gym today so that I don´t come back looking like a hippo!!!! My host mom also cooks really good food for dinner. Except for when she tells me what she is making, she just says ¨carne¨ (which just means meat). So I don´t know what I am eating most of the time, but I don´t want to ask because I know that they use the whole cow and am afriad that I will find out that I am eating the cows brain or something!!!

Everyone in my host family is really nice also. My host mom is an english professor and knows what it is like to learn another language So even though everyone in my family speaks Spanish, English, and Italian, she will not allow anyone to speak english to me. I have visited my host mom´s parents a couple of times and they are SO cute. Her whole family is VERY Italian and cooks really good food. Last time I was over there (last night) her parients just sat and asked me questions and told me stories for like 2 hours straight. I guess that they really look forward to my host mom having international students stay at her house. I have two sisters and one brother. I thought that I was originally going to have three sisters, but I guess I am excited to see what having a brother would be like! Belen (19 year old sister) is really nice and likes to talk. I actually just met her two nights ago because she was on a vacation or something. Matia (18 year old brother) is nice also. I think he is a pretty big part animal because the stories he tells me seem a little crazy, but interesting...I guess. And Sofia (14 year old) is probably one of the cutest girls I have ever met. I think she is excited about having me and always wants to hang out when I am around the house.

Well...that is all I have got for now!! I am really excited about everything!! I am constantly thinking about everyone at home, but I know that I could not have chosen a better place to go so I am really happy.

¡Chao!


p.s. Sorry if I am using simple sentences or cannot spell very well. For some reason I am having a rought time thinking/writing in English!

Advertisement



6th February 2007

I am so glad you are happy! I will be praying for you to be safe and happy!
6th February 2007

I am sooo glad to hear that you are having a wonderful time!! I am so jealous that you get to live with such a pure Italian family I would love that!! all the food and family and loud talking (I bet it kinda reminds you of your family haha) well I love this blog thing it is really fun to know what you are doing...keep safe and have fun I love you lots
6th February 2007

ok so I just wrote you a note but I wanted to ask you something else (sorry I might be posting a lot but you dont have to write back I just want you to know I am thinking of you)..... So it Matia cute at all?? and how is it living with a brother I bet you just eaither love it or think its totally weird! haha ok love you lots
7th February 2007

Way to go Beaner!
Beaner, You know I'm not the fastest typer so you won't see very long comments from me. I sent you an e-mail on your UWL address. Can you tell us more on the apartment you live in? Do people realy stay up very late every night? Do you walk to school or take the bus or subway? Do you eat lunch at school and if you do how's the food? I'm so excited for you Beaner! It makes Mom and I feel so good to here you're happy. I Love You Angels on your pillow Dad XXXOOO
7th February 2007

I'm so glad that you are having a good time! Keep enjoying every minute cuz there nothin new around here! Haha! Miss you lots! :)
7th February 2007

Gina a friend of mine wants to know if the gym is on Del Libertador Av? Just North and acrosss the street from Mc Donalds? Love Dad XXXOOO
9th February 2007

No, it is not. But I think I know what he is tlaking about. I think he is thinking of one called like Sport something, but I am not sure...Love you!
9th February 2007

hahaha, you WOULD be the person to ask about what my host brother looks like! It is pretty rare to find an Argentine who is not good looking...especially the women here. Everyone is super skinny (I don´t know how they do it with all of the good food!) and very pretty. Except for some of my friends host moms who have OBVIOUSLY had plastic surgery!! These two ladies look SO creepy, I do not understand why someone would want to pay that much money to look to gross!!!

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb