Happy Thanksgiving


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
November 23rd 2006
Published: November 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Galerias PacificoGalerias PacificoGalerias Pacifico

Very nice train station turned mall off of Avenida Florida
Not that I'm doing a damn thing to celebrate Thanksgiving here, but I hope all of my friends back home have a great day.
As for me, my plans have changed a bit. I've been feeling a bit antsy lately and have decided to leave Buenos Aires friday and travel around for a couple of weeks. I'm going with Spencer to Rosario for the weekend and then we'll head up to Iguazu Falls. Everyone I've talked to says the Falls are not to be missed, so I'm listening to their advice and going up there. After Iguazu, the plan is to go through Paraguay to Ascuncion and then back to Argentina to Salta. Spencer will then head northwest to Chile (eventually getting back to Ecuador where his flight leaves mid-December) and I'll head south to Mendoza for some wine touring before coming back to BA mid-December. This is, or course, extremely subject to change based on the way the wind is blowing, but that's the plan for now.
As for what I've been doing with myself for the past couple of days, not too much, just studying and eating and drinking really. On my third attempt at conquering the world (Argentinian
CorazonCorazonCorazon

There are lots of these big hearts in Plaza San Martin, but I can't seem to find anyone who knows why they're there...
Risk - TEG) I succeeded with a swift and overpowering victory over Fabian and Jemma. Jemma's a Brit just passing through on the tail end of a vacation that took her up to the jungle where she volunteered at an animal rehabilitation center. I think I've mentioned that Fabian is an Argentine from Rosario who lives for the club team there, Rosario Central.
Yesterday, Spencer and I went to the bus station to purchase our tickets to Rosario. The bus station is in the Retiro, so went walked back through Plaza San Martin (I was there earlier and posted a couple of pics) and then down to Plaza de Mayo where there was a free Reggae concert going on. Pretty cool actually.
I had class again yesterday and it was good enough. I have tons of homework to do today, so that's really all I have planned.
Enjoy your Turkey everyone!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Small Big BenSmall Big Ben
Small Big Ben

Aparrently a gift from the Brits in the 1910's - then a target of bombs during the Falklan War - and now renamed after the Argentinian Air Force...
More TEGMore TEG
More TEG

I WON!!!!!!! My first victory - I was so proud!
the hostel gangthe hostel gang
the hostel gang

Sivan, Fabian, Giovanna, and Adrian
new Davidnew David
new David

Spencer and another David. David is from GA and is kinda doing the same thing I am.
wowwow
wow

Fabian trying to help Giovanna with some dance moves...
ouchouch
ouch

Giovanna failing miserably...


Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0888s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb