My final excursion


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Tigre
November 17th 2007
Published: November 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Back in NZ now after three months in South America.

I have found it nearly impossible to leave Buenos Aires after I started getting comfortable there, taking Spanish lessons, making new friends and dancing every night. My plans to visit the Iguazu Falls and Patagonia were postponed and postponed until it was no longer possible. I did manage to take a day trip to Tigre last Sunday though, on the first sunny day after days of cloud and rain.

Meeting someone at 9am at the Retiro station was a huge mission, since I had only gone to bed at 4:30am. The 40 minute train ride to Tigre was nice though, and it was beautiful by the river, even if the water was muddy. The rivers were like streets, with house numbers on the ramps and water buses that could transport you around. A bit like Venice without the gondolas, I guess. We went for a river cruise after shopping in the markets at the Puerto de Frutos, then had a long lunch before taking the scenic Tren de la Costa back. There were some islands and a museum that I would have like to visit, but it was cold and everyone was tired. I guess I will just have to come back another time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb