Mini Update


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » La Plata
February 1st 2008
Published: February 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Mini Update!

I wanted to write a few things that I’ve got in the works because I’m very excited about my time here!

1. My Host mom has a friend who might get me onto one of the local field hockey teams!! Argentina is one of the best in the world for women’s field hockey so this is extremely exciting!

2. My Internship is with CEP, an organization which consults and gives training to both small and medium size enterprises in the BsAs area. Apparently my Spanish is good enough to accompany them on the consulting interviews around the province where they do their needs assessments!! I will still be working with the patents and translations but we shall see how good I am with that

3. My host family goes to Conception del Uruguay every weekend which is this gorgeous little beach town North of BsAs and I get to go!! Also I my host dad owns an Argentine men’s clothing store there so I get to help him out with a marketing plan!!

4. My host mom, who is only in her 30s is a locally famous folklore singer and has the most amazing voice. I get to go to her concerts backstage!

5. I have trips planned for Gualychau (Beach Camping & CARNAVAL!), Montevideo, UR (with Silvia!! where we will go to the beaches and the country!), Mendoza, AR (WINE COUNTRY!!!), Machu Picchu, Peru (with my Mikey!!! Its one of the 7 wonders of the world!) and Santiago, Chile to visit Karicias parents!


SIDE NOTE:
I made Canal 9 News(a countrywide news station)...They are a little pressed for news over the summer so we were interviewed as Americans coming to Argentina to help the poor. We were the only positive news on during the entire hour (Argentine´s tend to fixate on bad news)


Advertisement



2nd February 2008

Sounds like you have some pretty awesome stuff lined up - I'm kinda jealous! Have fun!!
3rd February 2008

I love you! Congrats on grad school. and I'm so glad your having a good time down there. I miss you, thank you again for the most amazing gift ever.

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0987s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb