Un café, ¿por qué?


Advertisement
Published: July 19th 2015
Edit Blog Post

For the most part, this has been an awesome trip so far, with a plethora of cultural and Spanish lessons and practice that are invaluable to me. However, as with any trip or school event, there are a few things I must question.

We were scheduled to go on a tour of the famous cafés of Buenos Aires today. There were five on the itinerary we were going to be taken to and told about. As cafés are a huge part of life and culture here, many are protected and/or subsidized by the government. We ended up going to one, miles away from both the school or where anyone lives, to have a couple snacks and a coffee, hot chocolate, or tea. I mean, I appreciate free food and drink any time, but I can tell you that these weren't any incredible, life-changing refreshments. After the one café, we were brought back and let go for the evening. This was nobody's first café, it was not the most famous one here, and I really just don't understand the purpose of that trip. It took almost two hours, and I think nobody really gained anything class-wise from it. But enough griping.

After getting home, I went with my roommate on about a 5-mile run. We tried to go into the reserve I wrote about the other day, but it was unfortunately closed for the evening, so we just ran along the waterfront. It was a great evening for it, and, of course, justified us stuffing our faces tonight. But we unfortunately do have to crash early, as we're getting up at 5:30 tomorrow morning (yes, on a Saturday), to go on another excursion...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.269s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0618s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb