La Sarna: When life gives you shit eat cake...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
August 17th 2006
Published: August 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

...and use plenty of scabies medication.

I am not really sure about what they are called here. Either: la sarna or escabiosis.

And yup, I got them...or hopefuly in the very near future will be able to say....I had scabies.

What a wild ride this one has taken me on. I am not sure when the symptoms started...about a month and a half ago. After first I was the silent victim. Then I caught F2 scratching. I asked him if he was itchy a lot and when it happend...he said it started a couple of days earlier. When I was starting to go crazy from the scratching I went to the doctor. I asked F2 to go with me....his symptoms had suddenly stopped. The story gets longer but I will keep it short.

I went to the doc, they said it was fleas.

I told F2 he said it was me eating too much chocolate.

I started cutting things out of my diet to see if it was alergies.

I started doing my own laundry at the laundrymat.

I got a phone call from F2, he had gone to the doc and had scabies.

And now...it is confirmed.

The shittiest thing about this whole ordeal is that I went to the doctor and told them it was scabies. They disagreed. I told F2 it was scabies and he disagreed. I went against my intuition and in the end I have a literaly torn up body. (Luckly scabies doesnt hurt you....unfortunatly it causes you to hurt yourself.) When I got undressed on Monday night I broke down. I looked at my body and saw huge bumps, raw dried out patches on my hands, bruises all over my thighs and arms. I am a mess and I know if anyone got a look at me they would be disgusted.

I wept and wept for my body and the abuse I put it through. I cried also because after a month and a half and I had convinced myself that I was alright. The scratching was because of stress...it was all in my head. I thought I was going crazy.

And so I imagine at this moment you are all pretty disgusted. What is scabies, and how did I get them? Well, they are bugs that live in your skin and eat it, poop in it and have babies in it. Yeah, that is disgusting but I am not disgusting for having them. I got it from sleeping in a bed that was unknowingly infected with scabies. So no, I bathe, I dont live in a slum, and I aint nasty. So put your preconcieved notions back where they belong.

This week has been stressful. First I had to plead, beg, and cry to convince Alan and his girlfriend Melissa that it was a good investment for them to go through the treatment process. Then there has been hours of walking around to all the pharmacies to find all the meds we need. We have cleaned the house, cleaned ourselves, and cleaned our clothes so fucking much that I am surprised that everything is still holding together. I also had to miss a couple of days of work and while I am on the road to recovery it is going to be a couple of more weeks until the itches stop itching.

But this week hasnt all been aweful. Monday night after I found out about the scabes I went to the open ears and hearts of Eddo and Jennifer Cherrry who handed me tiramisu and wine. Tuesday was sunny and randomly Alassandro, Caitlin, Eddo, Greg and I all found ourselves in El Hipotamo (it was just like meeting up for breaksfast in Olympia) When I walked out of the bar the sun was shiny and warm, I fell in love with San Telmo all over again and as I walked home, I even lazyily swung my bag of scabie medicine.

The other night F2 went into his normal tyraid about how I need to start taking Spanish classes. For the first time I could say I have started taking classes.

He asked me what I have learned and I smuggly said
Siempre tengo razon I am always right.

* the photo was found on the www.slackdaddy.org website


Advertisement



19th August 2006

: )
That's my girl!!!
20th August 2006

!
better a temporary physical infestation than losing your mind to paranoia
21st August 2006

Dios mio, chica! Que triste!

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb