Oh my God, what a journey...


Advertisement
Published: May 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well, believe it or not I overnight in Beijing for the first night.

I arrived yesterday at 9.30 pm and after a long long walk in their impressive and big airport I found the way out of it.

The problem was that during the night there are not many taxis. There was a line longer that 2 or 3 blocks to get a 1 hour ride to downtown in Beijing.

So the nice information and guest lady told me that the best way to get out there was taking a bus for 16Y and then a taxi for 20Y. It seemed it will be a super simple things.

But get was, it was not.

Why because the bus live you in the middle of a street, that at that time was already 11.00 pm, and you have to find first a taxi and then convince him to take you where you want. That many times they dennid. I am not sure why. Because even I have the hotel name writtten in Chinese letters and it was supposed to be pretty early noboday wanted to take me there.

I was in a big street were people fight for taxis until 12.30 pm, finally I manege to get one for me that wanted to take me to my tradicional hostel.

Once near there, the The Happy Dragon Countryard, seems to be somewhere hidden for me. The taxi askked me to live the taxi because the small street was block and closed regarding a construction.

He was saying something in Chinese, that I understood as, please live it here, I can not go further, is close, just walk, while I was refusing to live the car in the middle of the night in a dark alley without seeing the place. He was getting mad and spilt twice so I live the car after payong 11Y.

A local young guy help me calling the place. No English between us. Just signs. He saw me desesperate and with a good soul help me. The woman from the reception of the hotel did not wanted to come to pick me up 2 or 3 blocks because she could not leave the front desk she said. I was afraid to walk with the young friendly stranger but I had not choise. He walk me to the hostel. Two blocks not talking. Not even mention if I need help with the laguage not mention enything when I had to pass thru the contruction land full of rocks and avoid the track that was moving rocks.

The hostel was a nice place. Not as I expected so I need to change rooms. I need to fiure it out if I am staying here or not tonight.

But it was too much to handle after a long long journey traveling.

It is hot, very hot, I sleep as a baby, even next to me where a laudly party in the bar of the hostel.

But is day light again, ready to say, Welcome Beijing...lets continue the adventrue.

Florencia

Advertisement



19th May 2012

you are so so brave...
and i'm so impressed with you. i think i would have got on the first plane home! sending you huge huge hugs and can't wait to hear more of this journey. love nicola xoxo
19th May 2012

I will survive!
and I will do an amazing personal project:)
1st June 2012

great journey
Hello I am Rose working for corporatestays.com. I really like your article, it’s very interesting and thanks for sharing this… Even I expect more postings from your side...
1st June 2012

thanks!
enjoy...more feedback is welcome:)

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb