Principante 2 Can't see the forest for the verbs


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
January 31st 2012
Published: January 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Good evening from a rainy Buenos Aires.A thunderstorm hit last evening and the unsettled weather remained all day with rain and wind. It is the first completely cloudy day I have had here in almost 4 weeks. I was walking to school in the rain hoping it was not an omen of what was to come.

I started the next level today with a new classroom,new book and a number of new students. It is quite the United Nations with 2 Canadians,2 USA,2 Brits,2 South Africans,1 Dutch,1 French. I have the same teacher,Marina which is a good thing. I enjoy her teaching style and also like the continuity of having her shepherd me through the next level.

We were knee deep in irregular verbs before I could say Hola! and the class itself is conducted almost all in Spanish so one has to listen up to keep up!!

Tomorrow my cleaning lady comes apparently.I did not know I had a cleaning lady until I met my landlady last week who informed me that she will be here in the morning.If the weather is good i will go to the park to read and do homework,if it is raining I will go to a coffee shop for coffeee and media luna.

Yesterday I wandered down to the Pink House and the museum behind it dedicated to the Bicentennial.Lots of historic films and documentaries telling the story of the city and country and I had some difficulty following along at times so I might have to go back again and try to bite off smaller chunks of the history.There is a lot of recent history here with the Military coup's,juntas,Malvina's war and the Dirty War which still haunts the country trying to get answers from the government on the fate of the "Disappeared". The citizens who were swept up by the military and never seen again as well as their children who were given away to who knows who.Every week in Plaza de Mayo, grandmothers demonstrate with pictures of the missing, demanding answers. they have been doing it for years. I hope to go down and see them one week before I leave.

It was so very hot here yesterday I was glad to get back to Recoleta and my cool apartment where I settled in for supper and to listen to the All Star game on the internet. I could not find a bar with NHL hockey imagine!! Anyway it sounded like a great show and I was missing sitting with my friend Ian but at least I got to hear the game and was proud of our Captain.

Well enough about me for tonight, I have to get to bed as it is a school night. Take care

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1008.8kb