BA on pocket change!!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
January 21st 2006
Published: June 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Daily Champagne!!Daily Champagne!!Daily Champagne!!

Where else can I enjoy a champagne lifestyle on a beer budget?
Food: The undeniable Italian influence makes pizzas, pastas, and gelato as prevelant as pigeons in Union Square Park. But I had to try the steak, as Argentine beef is why some people visit. We picked a chic Italian restaurant that gives complimentary champagne with the bread basket. Nicole´s pasta was good, but my steak was tough and fatty. Not to be dettered, I will be trying the beef from the parilla (grill) which can be served at local greasy spoons designed for this purpose.

We did find out about an Arabic restaurant and the thought of falafel made our mouths water. (sandwich and soda, $1) Mainly we´ve had plenty of salads, a few pizzas, some pasta, and plenty of crossaints or whatever accompanies all the cups of coffee people drink here. There´s even a pastry and coffee section in McDonalds called McCafe that resembles a Starbucks kiosk with all it´s healthy breads and yummy lattes.

Nicole and I went to the supermarket to buy groceries and stuff is so cheap! Everything except olive oil..it´s like $3 a bottle and even has security sensors on it like its a pair of Gucci pumps!! Nothing else in the stores has sensors/alarms so I guess olive oil is a hot commodity.

For you wine lovers, very good wine can be purchased at the supermarket, the section carries all types of liquors and is quite extensive. Bottles of wine go for 3-10 pesos which is $1-3. Not the cheap headache-giving wine either. Even cheaper was a box (yea, I said box) of premixed red sangria for like $.75. True to my bartending self, I love making drinks, and the cutting of fruit is so therapeutic. So I made a great batch which we haven´t finished, but I´m going to remake it because I found a place with more tropical fruit, so I´ll tell you how that goes.

For you beer drinkers, a huge 40 oz. bottle of Heineken or other imported beers costs less than $1! The steak dinner that I had was 20 pesos, with a huge steak, fries, and a salad for under $7. And that was our splurge night...today was fruit, yogurt, water, and falafel. (cost less than $2) A pizza pie with 8 slices that Nicole and I couldn´t finish together (we gave some to a poor man that came and asked us for a slice) cost under $2!! So...you can see just how cheap everything is.

For you salad eaters, oil and vinegar is all that is available. I´m fine with this, but Nicole is very disappointed and refuses to give up hope. She´s dragging me to JUMBO, their version of Costco´s or Sam´s Club or whatever wholesale club you're familiar with, to look for some. Because she´s vegetarian, I undertand there may not be many choices for her here in Carneland, so sauces/condiments become the only variety.

Other cheap things: (listed in U$)

Metro/Subway: As efficient as NYC (without the A/C), these costs $.20 per ride and you can all over the city...

Cabs: ($.32 per km)...we went 45 blocks for $2, which we split four ways!

Bottle of Dasani Water: $.30

Cigarettes: Smoke till you choke...packs costs $1. (I am choking now because smoking is allowed even in the internet cafes and my neighbors are indulging)

Clothes: Many things for under $10...tanks for $3, earrings and accessories for $1, shoes start at $10.

Tattoos: Nicole checked out a place where the guy has tattooed many famous people including star players on the Argentine soccor team, with a legitimate setup, that cost $30 for a fairly large tattoo outline/silohuette she wanted.

Internet cafes: Hi speed for just $.40 and hour

Okay, that´s enough comparisons...I think you get it....It´s so inexpensive! I don´t want to say "thanks to their economic crash in 2001" but with our dollar weakening so much, we may not be able to afford to visit many countries soon. So let's enjoy it while it lasts!

Love you all!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0677s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb