My brain hurts


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
January 10th 2012
Published: January 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well bloggers I am back and feeling much better that this time yesterday. I am not really sure what I came down with yesterday but from my experience I think it was too much sun on Sunday when I walked miles and miles around the city to get to and from the San Telmo market. Too much sun and heat. I had my sunscreen on but as the day went on and I was sweating all day I think the sunscreen washed away. In any event i did not feel well yesterday so after school I dragged myself back to recoleta and after eating some fruit and drinking lots of water I went to bed and slept till 9 this morning!!

So school has started, I can walk to the classes along Uruguay street ,which is the street I live on.It is 11 blocks so just under a half hour.Interesting note, here people will give you distances rather than time to get somewhere understanding that you can walk at your own pace.

I got to school early to take care of the financial side of it all and was met by a couple of expats Tara and Victoria working here.After the money was settled classes started,with mine being a beginners level instructed by Marina. The number of students in the class has fluctuated in the first two days with people coming then disappearing but the core group of two canadians,2 australians,one american and a latvian has held fast with australians switching today.

First days are being spent on grammar and vocabulary going over adjectines nouns indefinate and definate,verbs and the particularities of Spanish in Buenos Aires. This latter one is interesting in that they have pronunciations unique to the region such as a word like Lavalle being pronounced la-va-sh-e.So far so good though my brain hurts when I try to remember the rules,and exceptions to the rules in the privacy of my appartment doing my homework. The group is a fun group of young people with me certainly the eldest of the group. The australians are typical of the tumbleweed travellers that country produces found in every corner of the world. It seems to be a national right of passage that every aussie justs packs up their bags and wanders the earth like a sadu. No real plan,many destinations and plenty of time,wonderful really.

I have not had a chance to talk much with the Latvian guy but he seems very worldly as well,speaking at least 4 languages and here to pick up another.The American is a woman who is living here for a year while her husband does some contract work.The other Canadian is interesting,chinese heritage but from Toronto.He lives and works in Shanghai and his mother is involved in Tango somehow and lives here in BA.

There are activities organized through the school such as a visit to the art gallery, a restaurant evening and a pub crawl that amongst other things involves a "foam room"! Yes you read that right foam, when I asked I was told it is a large disco room with music and lights but foam like soapsuds is blown in!! More on this later perhaps.

Looks like rain tonight with the first clouds I have seen moving in.A good thing for the farmers who are suffering through a severe drought in the country.

Well time to go buy some food for supper and do some studying. Buenas noches

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb