Markets in the sun


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
January 9th 2012
Published: January 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Good evening blogging buddies,it is Sunday evening here in the southern hemisphere.It has been a beautiful though very hot weekend. I was reading in the paper this morning that the temperature on Thursday was the third hottest day in 50 years here in Buenos Aires. The weekend was a little cooler with a very pleasant 27 or so on Saturday and today back up over 30. I am not complaining,don't get me wrong I love the heat, and am reminded when I walk out into it why I chose the southern hemisphere to escape winter in the north.

I have decided that my initial days here are for orientation.Physical orientation to the heat and geographic orientation to my surroundings and the city.So I wander around,I set my sights on a place or a thing and off I go camera and map in hand. Actually I tried a little free form orienteering yesterday and walked in a complete circle without wanting to!!! Lots of diagonals in BA,not just a grid system.In any event the map I picked up at the Argentine embassy in Ottawa is well worn and will not last the trip as it looks right now.

This was market weekend for me with the Recoleta craft market day Saturday and San Telmo antique market day Sunday. The recoleta market snakes around the foot paths of the park near the cemetary I spoke of the other day. I went back into the cemetary to find Eva Peron and followed the people in tours straight to her. She is in the Duarte family tomb,her maiden name, and there were fresh flowers on the gate/door. It is a tight squeeze infront of the tomb but still people crowd in and everyone wants a picture taken with Evita.I was happy to take pictures of people taking pictures which is my way.

The craft market was crowded but not really inspiring,I will go back again I am sure and give things a proper look but for now I was content to go with the flow and just wander through. I stopped for a smoothie and people watched then wandered across an bridge traversing the freeway. It was then it struck me how few cars there were and how quiet BA is on a weekend. All of the side streets I had been on were quiet but it was dramatic seeing this great road quite empty at times. Summer is a good time to be here if for no other reason than everyone leaves town to go to the seashore or to the hills and lakes closer to the mountains.

Across the bridge is the School of Law and imposing building with Dorian columns and stone stairs. No students around presumably between summer and weekend it was empty but who knows.

Beside the law school is a magnificent stainless steel flower.A huge metal sculpture of a flower with its petals open sitting in a pool of water. There weer people sitting on lounge chairs enjoying the sun and sight in what is know as United Nations Park. It was quite fine indeed, and made even better when I read that the flower was a gift from an Argentine artist and with solar energy the flower opens in the morning and closes its petals at night!! How cool is that? I will have to come back to see that.

Today was a walk to San Telmo, another barrio of Buenos Aires. It is a good long walk and the heat was ever present but with frequent watering stops and the occasional cerveza I presevered and made it across town.What a place,crowded with people all looking and talking and eating and drinking and occasionally singing. There is a traditional market building dating back to the 1800's filled with stalls and shops of the antique dealers. Sort of a giant garage sale though some lovely looking things as well as some junk. I know nothing about antiques and found it very hot inside so made my way back to the street. The street was also full of vendors some with booths some just spread out on the glound. I saw my first Tango dancers giving lessons and collecting pesos. many tourists as well as porteno's here or so I believe and the market area is alive with humanity. Pick pocket heaven so I had everything well secured and tucked away.

The street leading from the market area was full of people for blocks and blocks selling all manner of antiques,crafts,art,music . I forsee another trip to San Telmo in my future as well. The street eopens out onto Plaza De Mayo where the war veterans are still protesting so I set my compass for recoleta and headed back exhausted,sweaty and pleased with the day.

PS. The demonstrations I almost saw the other day was in response to the hike in Subway fares from 1 peso 10 centavos to 2 pesos 50 centavos. There may be more as the change only came into effect Friday and the subway workers let everyone ride free in protest. Lots of Union activity down here but that is another blog for another day.It is a school night so I have to get to bed!!!!

Adios


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb