I'm back -- and World Cup Madness


Advertisement
Published: June 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Me and Erin Me and Erin Me and Erin

This is on the train on our way to a small resort town, Tigre, just north of BA on the delta.
Sorry for the long break from blogging, but I'm back and plan to post more often.

I just finished my first trimester of school last week, so I have been busy studying for finals, taking them, and then recuperating from them. I don't know my grades yet, but at least 2 of the three went well . . . we'll see.

Hmmm, before finals my friend Paul came to visit from Washington. He worked with me at CRA. While here he stayed with mutual friends Martin (who's Argentine) and his girlfriend Erin (who's not). Paul, Martin, and I all worked together at CRA in D.C. and Paul and Erin went to college together. Anyway, we were a happy bunch and I think Paul had a pretty good time experiencing this Buenos Aires freedom. I'm posting some pictures of his trip. Martin and Erin just left BA (they were here for three months so Erin could learn spanish and meet all of Martin's family) and they just moved back to Portland last week.

I started my new trimester on Monday (no vacation!), but should have a few weeks of calm. I'm looking forward to two more visits coming up:
Paul and ErinPaul and ErinPaul and Erin

This is Paul and Erin in Plaza Florida after a nice walk through the city.
the first by my Dad and stepmom. They're coming for a week and we're going to spend several days traveling in the northwest of Argentina (near the Bolivian border), through Tucuman and Salta. Then, the week after they're here a friend from college, Lisa, is going to visit me for a week. We're going to take a few days and go to Iguazu falls in the far north of the country (near the Brazil and Paraguayan borders).

The last month here has been really good. I've made some good friends, both from Argentina and from other countries, and I'd say I finally feel pretty settled. I've also joined a Rotaract Club (Rotary for college-age people and young professionals), which has been really nice because it's a group of nice, active, world-minded argentine students. They've been great because they do lots of volunteer projects and also have lots of social events.

I think the other major thing to report is that World Cup fever is upon us!!! You can practically cut the anticipation with a knife. Everyone is super patriotic and wearing sky-blue and white (the Argentine flag colors). The news is covering all the soccer news from Germany
MartinMartinMartin

Martin in my apartment after dinner.
like it's a war . . . constant updates even though the games haven't even started yet. The national team scrimaged against the junior national team a week ago, and afterward there was singing in the streets near myh apartment. Latin America at its best! It's all pretty exciting. I'm lucky because I get to watch the first game of the Argentine team this Saturday with Argentines. One of the Rotaract members is having people over to his place for an asado (Argentine grill party) and then to watch the game. I feel pretty lucky to get to watch the game with Argentines.

Well, that's it for now, but I promise to keep updates coming. -Chris


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Our meal in TigreOur meal in Tigre
Our meal in Tigre

all beef and fried potatoes.


8th June 2006

Rotary Club of Swansea, IL, District 6510
Hi Chris! Congrats on your studies. It sounds like you're having a super time. It's amazing how World Cup is a phenomenon around the world and yet in this country barely a blip mention on the evening news. We'll have to have you at the Swansea Club to tell us all about your adventures when you get back. Study hard! Debbie :)

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.115s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb