Escuela de Español


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
December 6th 2010
Published: December 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hoy fue mi primer día de clase de español. Es muy muy bueno. ¡Soy español profesional! Voy a la escuela a ocho y cuarto, y yo me voy a la escuela a cuatro.

From now on I am going to start each blog in Spanish so that I can practice and eventually just write in Spanish with an english translation at the bottom. But in English I will start at the begining.

Two days ago was Betty's grandson Manuel's 9th birthday. Betty, Mitch and I went to her daughter's house for the party. I didn't do a whole lot of talking to anyone other than Mitch, but it was a lot of fun. There were about 12 kids Manuel's age and his two twin brother's, Simón y Juli, who are about 5. We all sat on the roof patio and ate chorizo (sausage), hamburguesas, y carne de parilla (grilled meat). As per usual we had cake (that Betty made) around midnight. At one point in the night one of Manuel's friends was making fart noises with his arm and Mitch commented that "Nine-year-olds are the same everywhere." It was a good night.

Today my classes started at the ILEE Spanish School! Betty rode the subway downtown with me and walked me to the school. The classes were great, mostly in Spanish with a bit a English thrown in to explain difficult concepts. I am in class with two, 22 year-old American girls, and a 29 year-old German. They all seem very nice. My teacher is an amazing beautiful Porteña who I am definitely in love with. The group lessons were good, but the crown jewel was the private class. At first we were doing the boring normal Spanish that is essential, but then we got into the good stuff. Over the course of the two hour period we covered, North American relations with Latin America, El XX Cumbre Iberoamérica (The 20th summit of Spanish speaking countries), dictatorships, current affairs, and all the other políticos muy interesantes de Sudamérica. It was fantastic.

I will write more after I have gone to my first Tango lesson and started my volunteer work, possibly in the shanty towns.

Ciao


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Photo 17Photo 17
Photo 17

Vanina, Juli, y Mitch
Photo 23Photo 23
Photo 23

Mi y el gato
Photo 24Photo 24
Photo 24

My classroom
Photo 25Photo 25
Photo 25

The view from mi escuela


Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0197s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb