Sehrusaan seemed to like Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
April 19th 2006
Published: April 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I will start this by announcing this is now Sally writing, not Sehrusaan. The reason being Sehrusaan has gone missing. So, if any of you happen to be in BsAs and find a red and white sock puppet, please email me. He went missing from my pocket at Glam, a nightclub in Palermo, on Saturday night.

We arrived in Buenos Aires on Good Friday, so it was quite strange to drive down 15 lane roads in the bus and see hardly any cars. All the people seemed to be either at home, at church, or in one of the thousands of parks around the city. The hostel I was staying at was in a nice area, not too far from the city centre by the subte - which is short for subterranean I think and is otherwise referred to as a train. This keyboard is really strange and not at all conducive to putting things in brackets, so I'll have to try and do without.

Anyway, so Buenos Aires is a really cool city, full of old buildings, lots of statues, cafes, patisseries, bars, and everything else you'd expect to find in a big city. It even has professional dog walkers who walk 15 dogs at once - like you see in the US.

During the days I wandered around and looked at museums, galleries, markets etc. The cemetary in Recoleta is really cool, it's liked a little walled city full of mausoleums and crypts that look like mini cathedrals. There are heaps of cool statues and decorations too, as well as a stream of Japanese tourists traipsing towards where Evita's buried. Watching Japanese businessmen sing 'Don't Cry for Me Argentina' is very amusing, although I suppose it might just be a popular karaoke song or something like that.

In the evenings we went out to cafes and bars, one of the guys in my hostel had been studying in Buenos Aires, so knew all of the places to go out. We went to quite a few cool restaurants, including a buffet for about $3 that was just around the corner from our hostel, and included an Argentinian barbecue, random chinese dishes, salads, veggies, desserts, and ice cream. There are heaps of ice cream parlours everywhere, all with at least 20 different flavours.

That's about all I have to say about Buenos Aires for now, I'm actually in Costa Rica now, going to Cuba tomorrow, so unless I update this for here later today, it might be a couple of weeks.

I'm off to the museum of crime now, then maybe the zoo,

Sally


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



22nd April 2006

this is not real, it is only a test
hello sally, i am trying to post on your blog....but i can't make it work. doubtless this will be the one that works then i will look silly.
22nd April 2006

how dare you abandon me!
I can't believe you left me in your pocket! I am a hand puppet not a polly pocket! I was kidnapped not surprising with your lack of care! I escaped though thank goodness, due to my own skill. Lucky I have my black belt in sock puppet karate. I have now decided to tour the world by myself for a while - in style of course

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb