Easter...where's the Easter Bunny?


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
April 15th 2006
Published: April 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It is Easter Weekend here in Buenos Aires. In the past few years Easter has ment little to me other than the passing of time. In the past few years after Easter passes I realize that I am getting older....I wait for the Easter egg basket but it doesn't come. I always make a point of mentioning it to my mom...hoping she will send me a belated Easter egg basket. What I get instead of lovely candies is the reply "You are too old". I realize now that I love Easter...American Easter that is. I love looking for things. I love the candy. I love dying eggs, even though I always refused to eat them. When I was little finding out that Santa didn't exist wasn't a big deal. I learned much later on in life that the Easter Bunny didn't exist. I remember the day. I screamed. Santa didn't seem as plausible as the E.B. I am still waiting for him.

But here, right now, in this country far from home I am going through culture shock. It started a couple of weeks ago when I found out that my new British and Australian roomates didn't know about the Easter Bunny. They get only chocolate on this day....and eat a roast. There are no dyed Easter eggs in their country. No plastic grass, no baskets, no marshmellow bunnies....there is no mystery.

Yesterday was Good Friday and the city shut down. Hardly any stores were open. Walking to my house yesterday down Defensa (the big tourist street in my neighborhood) I felt sorry for all the tourists who were limited to one antique mall. They all looked a bit frantic...trying to experience as much of this neighborhood that they could swollow.....all I saw on their faces was dissapointment. It wasn't just Defensa that was closed. The whole city was shut. Closed tight. There were no people on the streets. If is a bit odd being in a city of 11 million people and not seeing only but a handful of faces. The buses were open, the clogged streets wide.



Advertisement



28th April 2006

ok-ok-ok
maybe the bunny will visit you (belatedly) But you can't complain and tell me that you really don't like Peeps or stuffed animals anymore. Deal???

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0746s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb