Buenos Aires...the land of plenty


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
April 14th 2006
Published: April 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Buenos AiresBuenos AiresBuenos Aires

Tango in San Telmo
So I have arrived in Buenos Aires. Stayed in the V&S Hostel according to some recommendations from travellers. It is quite a chilling place. I am sitting here in BA for the second time trying to recall everything that I in a half pissed state. Oh well, I will do the best that I can.

The city itself is quite spread out. I have heard all kinds of rave reviews on BA so I had high expectations. At first, I can't say the city overwhelmed me or wowed me in any way simply because I took it as another european city. But slowly it did grow on me I must admit.

Random Bla Blas



There are quite a few restaurants to explore in here so one has to start slow and do a thorough walkthrough. Anyway, I have never seen so many internet places in a city as Buenos Aires. There is literally an internet place....also known as Locutorio on every corner so there is never a shortage for that. The neighbourhood of Recoleta is really nice with an impressive cemetery of all the powerful people from Buenos Aires. I also saw the grave of Evita and naturally
Buenos AiresBuenos AiresBuenos Aires

Fiberglass cows in Puerto Madeiro...you gots to love em
took a picture of it. The cemetery looks like a little town. It is quite neat in a freaky way. There are also some bars around that area. The nightlife spots are probably countless in here. By the way, should there be a spelling error or punctuation error...feel free to dismiss it as I am not exactly in a complete state of consciousness.

I have met met up with a local girl who showed me around town a little and the very first thing I did when I got here was to get a haircut. So yes people, the word on the street is out. The big R got himself a haircut Argentina style. Whatever. I went to a fancy mall the first day and walked around 10 km just because I wanted to explore the city a bit. When you get out of the touristy district, things like clothes become really cheap. Example would be like a fairly nice sweater would cost around 30 pesos which is around $US10.

Palermo is another neighbourhood that is quite fancy and has a lot of nightclubs in the surrounding area. Yes, I have a lot to say about this area
Buenos AiresBuenos AiresBuenos Aires

Evita´s Tombstone
as you can see.

One day I was supposed to explore the city with a bunch of people from the hostel but the bastards did not wait for my ass because I took too long in the travel agency. So what is a lost Slovak supposed to do? Well, I went to see the Colon Theater which turned out to be quite impressive as it is supposed to be one of the elite theaters of the world.

Orgasmic Steak Is Good for You



One of the best experiences was trying the steak by the river port in Puerto Madero. Dang that steak was good. Second time I got it in San Telmo in a local neighbourhood and this time I got it rare so there was some blood on the plate. I must admit that it was one of the best steak I have ever had. Simply delicious, and of course no meal would be complete without an incredible Argentine wine to go along with it. We ordered Alamos and it was really smooth. Did I mention I love wine?

Tango Session Begins



Yet another adventure was seeing the Tango. If you want to see
Buenos AiresBuenos AiresBuenos Aires

Colon Theater
it on the street in a fun atmosphere, you can go to the area of San Telmo and see it there. A couple usually just shows up with their speaker and starts dancing. It is really fun to watch. After they go around with the hat and make you feel like an idiot if you do not give them anything. You can't say no when they extend the hat out with everyone watching.

The second way to see the tango is to pay for a show at a cafe or a restaurant. So me and a couple of girls from Greece and one dutch guy went to such an event. The first couple that showed up was quite good and not only because the girl was amazing/stunning. They actually were good. Tango is quite a romantic and intimate dance. The greek girls were quite...let's just say different simply because after the couple started dancing she started to write. Then I ask her why she wasn´t paying any attention to the dancing and what she was writing...this is what she said: I am writing down my thoughts on why I don´t like the tango.

What kind of a fool
Buenos AiresBuenos AiresBuenos Aires

River Plate vs. Instituto...the good old soccer game
would be writing down thoughts after seeing the dance for about 10 seconds. I have sort of concluded that these girls were just ¨special¨ travellers and they have concluded that in a couple of minutes. All they did was complain and whine about everything. I love company like that. It is amazing how annoying that can get within an surprisingly short period of time. After the tango I ditched them without hesitation and went out to explore the local nightlife culture. I simply did not need to hear about how the music sucks and bla bla bla.

I went to the place called The Museum. It was a really huge pub...with 3 floors and it turned into a dance floor at around midnight after they cleared the tables. Since i went out with a local girl and her friends, it was fun.

It Gets Better Second Time Around



After I got back from Iguazu Falls, I stayed in San Telmo instead of the center for a different perspective on the city. Just by luck I met up with the same guy I met in Iguazy Falls. I had one day to explore the surroundings so I decided
Buenos AiresBuenos AiresBuenos Aires

I Be Clubbin It
I will go to Tigre which is around a 40 minutes train ride from Buenos Aires. The transportation was extremely cheap...the train cost 0.95 pesos. Divide the price by 3 to get american dollars.

We met a girl on the train so we were having fun with her (without her knowledge for the most part) for a bit and then we went to take a cruise on the river to see the area. It was quite nice but the highlight turned out to be an american guy that was on the boat. As soon as I got on the boat I noticed this face. I have never seen such a displeased look on anyone´s face before. It was totally funny so I took a picture of the bufoon and could not stop laughing. I pointed it to the British guy I was with and it was on. He started talking to us but this guy was really...and the Russ means REALLY special. Being the prick that I am, I started to make fun of him indirectly even to his face and once in a while we would review the pictures we took of him without his knowledge. A couple of times I had to hold on to the railing because I was about to fall or keel over the boat from the laughter. And hence to commamorate the moment, I will put up a picture of his face on the web. It is only fair to share and we all know that I am a fair kind of guy.

Clubbin Time



That night I thought I was going to talk myself out of going out since I was catching the plane to Santiago the next morning. I was in bed, sort of sleeping when the British patrol stormed into my dorm with a beer in his hand. Who am I to refuse right? So I got dressed and got ready to party. We went to a club called SUNSET... hmm I am not sure why I put that in capital letters but I am too lazy to go back and re-write it. The club is absolutely huge with about 4 different rooms. One plays some sweet techno/electronica, the other plays spanish music with a second room being outside. There is also the VIP lounge which I did not bother trying to penetrate. The ladies were less than friendly so I just hung around the hostel group. I managed to hang around until 7am and had to be at the airport at around 9:30am. Yes, it is all about cutting it close people. But I managed to get there on time so everything is cool.

I must admit that the city did grow on me over time and I did enjoy myself there.

One more thing before I forget. Quit trying to demand pictures out of me everytime you read the damn blog. ARE YOU NOT ENTERTAINED?! ARE YOU NOT ENTERTAINED?!?!?! Little do you realize how much time it takes to write these...then upload pictures after maybe even more time consuming. And some of you want me to spell check my entries. Good one...lol. Don´t make me kick some ass when I get back, I am a peaceful creature. Well, I put up pictures from Brazil so be happy. =)


Advertisement



19th April 2006

Ok Ok....I am entertained
So you met a local ? Do you have pictures of the local ? Her friends ? Does she have any sisters ?
21st April 2006

BA - I am so jealous!
So I see you got to party in BA, my favourite city in the world! Did you have fun with Isa? Too bad Willy wasn't along for the fun this time like when Isa visited Calgary. Sadly for me I am stuck in TO instead of joining in the reunion in BA. I am thrilled to see you are having such a fabulous time in South America. Stay safe and healthy!
21st April 2006

I be lovin it
So I could say so many things about that picture in the club...but I will leave that to a later time...I swear this is like therapy this blog. I laugh and laugh and laugh...you should do this for a living.
24th April 2006

Time for a HAIRCUT!!
You're looking ACE VENTURAEEE there buddy!! Over all... I'm jealous... Sounds like you're havin a blast and I'm still enduring the tortures of being at FAP!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb