Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
February 17th 2010
Published: February 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Dana and I had a few days to explore the city before his Dad arrived. We wandered the streets to take it all in. I felt like I had gone back to the early 1950s with all the old buildings and the way many people dressed. Many old men were dressed in the outfits I remember from West-Side and even some young people had old fashioned clothes. We stayed in a beautiful old hotel with huge French doors and balconies and an ancient elevator which until now I have only ever seen on TV, the ones where you have to close the door and then the gate inside. I thought this was soo cool but it also reminded me of how much technology has changed in such a short time. I absolutely loved the feeling of this city. So much culture and a really vibrant atmosphere. We found the palace in which Eva Peron gave her captivating speeches and much to Dana’s dismay I sang songs from Evita for the rest of the day... or maybe it was the rest of the week.

When Barry arrived we moved into a B&B and we packed our days full of fun activities. We actually ate regular meals and real food too. Steaks. Wine. Bliss.

Our first day, we went to Tigre, a weekend getaway town, where we took a ferry ride through the maze of water channels going out to sea. And the food. Did I mention how nice it is to eat real food? That night we went to a Tango show. We had a tango lesson first then a fabulous wild mushroom ravioli dinner with wine, great live music and captivating dancing.

In BA things get going late and we ate dinner at midnight most nights. Restaurants are dead until about 11pm. And the 1am mood is perfect for an after-dinner stroll around the neighbourhood.
Our last day we went to Recoleta Cemetery. As I took my first step through the gates I looked up to see a black cat staring at me, which then quickly disappeared behind a crypt. Spooky! This is where the rich and famous are buried. It costs more for a crypt here than a lifetime of living lavishly. We found Eve Peron’s crypt and many other architecturally incredible structures. There were large domes with golden mosaics, huge pillars and intricately carved sculptures. There was also, of course, the token crazy looking maintenance man who stared at you from around the tombs.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

This one had a gold leaf mosaic of the Virgin Mary praying underneath the dome.


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb