Shopping, Parties, Pasta, Fashion??


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
March 25th 2006
Published: March 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Cape HornCape HornCape Horn

Rounding Cape Horn the last morning on the boat
Well the cruise is over. We finished on Saturday night (11th) with wine tasting,dinner and a tango show. Was a fantastic night. Food and music both amazing. It is very sad to say goodbye to all my fellow travellers on this part of the trip and I am very glad for the ease of email in keeping in touch with so many new friends.

Some of us have stayed on to see some more of this big city. I think there are around 14 million people here, only 14 times the size of home!! I will be here for a month and so far the first few weeks have been soo busy. I don´t think I will be able to see everything.

Highlights so far:

San Telmo sunday markets with Roswyn and Lesley- bargains, food and lots of tango

Montevideo- Uruguay- Lesley and I (and Godfrey of course) decided to do a day trip for lunch in a neighbouring country!

First wednesday here we had Big Day Out for Phil´s 23rd Birthday (Phil was on the Antarctic trip and his birthday is actually on thursday but he is going to Rio). Lunch and drinks with all
Cape Horn SunriseCape Horn SunriseCape Horn Sunrise

Rounding Cape Horn the last morning on the boat
including Juan from start of trip. Dinner and drinks with Gillian joining us as well after her sojourn to a retreat up north. Then more bars and attempted ( Isay attempted coz they were mostly closed and we ended up staying in bars)nightclubbing till around 5am. Yes it was a big day out!! Too much guiness, not enough nurofen thursday morning!

Broccolino - this has to be without a doubt the best Italian place on the face of the planet and it is only a 2 minute walk from the hostel. For those that need directions it is on the corner of Esmerelda(776) and Cordoba. Lasagne and canneloni to die for!!! Thanks to Sally for finding this one, have been back a few times already.

Lots of shopping with both Sally and then Lesley on their last day in Buenos Aires. I´m very sad to be here without you both (and Roswyn), but I have put Jackson Hole Wyoming, Wellington, and Perth (Portugal) all on my list.

Spent a week with books after enrolling in a language course for a week. 5 hours each day! Yes, i know, homework and holidays together- fun fun fun. It was fun too---the first day. Days two and three included discussion of both the French Revolution and some opium war in China which quite frankly I know nothing about and would probably be hard enough to explain in english let alone spanish!!!! Thats when I began to think if maybe if I asked nicely they may let me go back to a level one class.

Finally got into the local habit of sleeping til 11pm then going out. And yes I have now been to a night club - for those that know me well it was a good reminder as to why I don´t go to clubs at home. The best thing about this was the fact that it only cost $30pesos to get in (that´s about $13AUD) and was free drinks all night. And I needed the free drinks too, to get through sitting under strobe lighting for 6 hours, foam falling fom the ceiling, and with music that I am pretty sure consisted of only 2 chords all night- maybe 2 and a half! AAAHHH. At least now I can cross Ibiza off my list coz i´m sure it is exactly the same. As for the entertainment on the stage, Vaan you would have thought you had died and gone to heaven!!!


Things I find disturbing:

The local habit of wearing panty hose underneath jeans with the top of them sticking out.

The fact that 'I dream of jeannie' pants are being worn by way too many people. And yes I have seen them in denim. AAAAAAAAHHHHHHHH.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

With Phil and LesleyWith Phil and Lesley
With Phil and Lesley

At the start of the day!
Puerto MaderoPuerto Madero
Puerto Madero

Old navy ship Sarmiento which is now a museum
Study timeStudy time
Study time

My classmates


25th March 2006

Thanks
Thanks Julie for keeping us updated on the group and your travels, wish you the best, back at work and wishing I was back in Argentina, or someplace else. Take care and keep up the good work. Mary
11th April 2006

I'm glad to hear that others finally got to see the 'I dream of Jeannie' pants. Obviously all the rage in BA. I also saw the pantyhose above the jeans thing, but thought it was a one off. Sounds like you all had a great night for Phil birthday. Wish I had been there instead of the airport, as my flight was delayed 5hrs and I didn't leave until 5.30am. Back home, and work full on, holiday almost a distant memory. You must be about to head off on your trek north. Have fun, keep the photos coming. Look after Jeffery!!

Tot: 0.401s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 82; dbt: 0.0757s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb