Briefly back in BA


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
February 22nd 2006
Published: February 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I arrived back in BA very late on Monday evening, to the sweltering heat of the city. After the wind blown steppes of Patagonia, the still air and humid heat is almost oppressive, making movement rather on the uncomfortable side.

Yesterday was spent saying my good byes to the rest of the group and Graciella (scarey, now on my own in the big city) trying to sort out a bed for the night, (succesful), book a bus to get the ranch (a double decker sleeper bus - wish me luck with that one!), get a new SIM card so I can recieve calls without costing the earth (not sure if it's actually working yet, no-one has actually been able to call me yet!), putting digital photos onto CD to send home (took ages) and replying to emails I've acculmulated whilst I've been out of the modern ages.

Today I meet up with Luisa, my old room mate for a day in the old Tango area of the city, and now home to the football stadium. Should be interesting, as our communication is still very reliant on sign language, but it will be good to have company nonetheless, before getting on my bus to the great unknown.

Quick note about the hostel I've been staying in - I've not heard this many English voices since I arrived! It's a huge old colonial house that has been adapted well into dorm rooms with balconies overlooking the street outside, or a central open courtyard. The doors and ceilings and high, and the floors still the original wood. The bathrooms are a little scarce, but clean and I haven't had to queue for too long! Actually one of the nicest places I've stayed at so far, albeit without the clean towels and soap provided in the other places!

Well I don't know when the next entry will be, whenever I next find access to the internet which might be anytime. Look forward to hearing from everyone.
If you know of anyone who wants to look at the blogs or piccies then they can get here by typing in www.travelblog.org/bloggers/Anna-C



Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb