Empandas food of the Gods


Advertisement
Published: July 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Palermo BarPalermo BarPalermo Bar

No idea what this menu says!
I have decided to write a blog as a way of remembering my vacations from this day forth & so I begin with my stay at a very dear friends in the Crespo Area of Buenos Aires Argentina.
I have been here now for 13 days but having so much to do I have not been able to find the time to write & also the fact that i´m incredibly lazy. So now Becz is carrying out her daily ritual of 2hrs in the shower, 1hr applying make-up followed by 30mins of choosing which clothes to wear, it seems it doesn´t matter which Continent you are in women all take forever getting ready.
I at present find myself wishing she would get her arse in gear, I´m really finding difficulty adjusting to this eating at 22:00 & so sit from 18:00 (normal eating time) convalescing starvation.


The Start: Rebeca meets me at the airport after a long boring flight from Glasgow via Birmingham & Paris, we go direct to her home drop of my luggage & she goes over so basic house rules like don´t leave the toilet seat up & don´t piss on the floor. After convincing her that I was toilet trained by the age of 12 & assuring her I am not an animal I let rip with a deep base fart which shocks her into laughter & confirms her view that I am in fact a child in long pants.
So after a quick pee which I took seated we go out for my 1st taste of Argentinian life & after a pleasant 15 minute walk in the glorious South American winter sun we arrive at Palermo Soho a very cool district near her home to find a nice bar, shoot- the- breeze & watch the World go by over coffee & the culinary delight known as Empanada´s. These little pastry type croissants filled with meat or veg are so delicious I end my 12 year abstinence from meat & indulge in 4 of them. Next it was time to get acquainted with my surrounds & to my surprise it´s exactly like Europe here the shops & people are not what I envisaged at all, nobody looks like or dresses like the extras in a Spaghetti Western, not 1 poncho or Sombrero to be seen.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb