Random thoughts


Advertisement
Published: July 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So now that my eight required blogs for class are completed and published I can blog at my whim, chatting aimlessly about whatever it is that catches my attention.

Don't get me wrong, this country is amazing but I am getting the sense that Argentines, Or at least people from Buenos Aires have a tendency towards the dramatics. Nearly the entire city is shut down because of the swine flu (excuse me, H1N1, or as they call it here Gripe Porcina). And I am not talking about older people or children, young, (assumedly) healthy people wearing masks on the subte, buying up all the anti-bacterial hand gel and abandoning the traditional Argentine kiss hello. I completely understand that the flu is bad here and that they have had supposedly an unusually high percentage of mortality, but really, is all this drama necessary? I went out a few nights ago with another girl from the hostel and the streets were virtually empty. Top all that off with rain, cold weather, Sketchy internet and no more Grey's Anatomy reruns and I don't know what I am going to for these next two weeks.

On the bright side today was my second time attending Spanglish at one of the bars in Palermo. Always an interesting selection of tourist, and Argentines as well as conversation ranging from awesome to dear-god-is-it-time-to-switch-yet. Its fascinating to me that there are so many Argentines attending Spanglish, even more than once a week. I have never heard of such an event being offered in the states (not to say that they don't exist) and i feel like most Americans simply don't have the desire to learn a different language unless they are required to or want to travel.
Slowly but surely the language stuff appears to be kicking in here. I will be by no means fluent by the time I leave (disappointing as I had this delusion that I might be) but I had an interview for my research yesterday that was almost entirely in Spanish. Granted the lady spoke more slowly than casual conversation but over all I was able to understand her answers. Which is exciting both for my language skills and my research.
Speaking of research, I really should stop blogging and do something productive in that area... Like translating chunks of repetitive Argentine education law. Sounds awesome, no?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0164s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1010.4kb