Day as a turista in BA


Advertisement
Published: May 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Started the day on foot into Recoletta neighborhood. I thought I'd do some shopping, some cafe time, and meet our friend Alfredo for lunch. Found La Rambla - a little coffee/tea cafe that had a nice street view. So I settled in for some incredible croissants - they may have been dipped in honey. Whatever it was, was the best croissants I have ever tasted. Or at least that I could remember right then! I also went ahead and had a real espresso with steamed milk (no wimpy decaf today). That too, tasted so nice. I sat there a little while - watching passersby, reading 'Music for Chameleons' by Truman Capote. I am loving that book! I can't really think of a better way to spend a Friday morning.

Wandered to Recoletta Cemetery, because I was just a couple of blocks away. It is such a gorgeous cemetery - a little walled city filled with incredibly ornate crypts, tombs, memorials, trees, cats (live ones, wandering and snoozing in the sun), little streets with so much to see. I took a gazillion photos and talked to Alfredo, making plans to meet him for lunch. I wandered out of the cemetery and walked in the gorgeous sunshine to meet him at Cumana, an empanada place on Rordrguez Pena near Santa Fe. The food was excellent - tomato and cheese salad with three different kinds of empanada that were all very tasty. And the company was even better - very nice to catch up with Alfredo, hear more about politics in Argentina, discuss social media, and just hang out. I was so glad he had time to meet up, as I so enjoyed his company.

Alfredo dropped me off at the Bullrich shopping mall after lunch - I was on a mission to find a store called Trosman. I found it alright. And dropped a pretty penny or two in that place! Wandered through the mall, and got some ice cream at freddo (Alredo reminded me that I can't leave BA without ice cream!). Wow. Dulce de leche classico was the flavor. Smooth and creamy doesn't even begin to describe it. Wow. I highly recommend a stop at this ice cream shop freddo (it's a chain). You won't regret that, whoever you are.

I wandered back to the Sofitel with some sight-seeing along the way. What a great extra day, and
Dog Walker 1Dog Walker 1Dog Walker 1

It cannot go unnoticed that dog walkers are much more talented here than in the US. Seriously walking 10+ dogs. I like that they may have size requirements. She has all mid-small sized dogs.
a perfect way to wind down and enjoy the city after the work-time there.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

La RamblaLa Rambla
La Rambla

delicious espresso and croissants!


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb