First Night (3rd and final segment)


Advertisement
Published: May 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Since I didn´t get any comments or emails AT ALL after publishING the first two entries, I was not at all sure that anyone was receiving these posts. But THANK YOU AUNT DIANE AND UNCLE IRA for letting me know you ARE indeed receiving the posts. So here we go...

after sitting at the computer for god knows how long, I paid the two pesos for two hrs and was on my way.

i didn´t want to go to sleep right away so I decided to explore a bit. I walked down the street slowly, taking everything in. I asked this old, wrinkled, white-haired dude in a sweater vest what time it was in my super-rusty Spanish. He got all excited. OH! Where are you from? He asked me. I told him the states and he couldn´t believe it. He asked me how long i´d been in Argentina and I told him it was my first night. We were chattign and another guy came out much younger maybe forty-something. Not attractive at all. The older dude introduced me to the other dude. The older guy asked me what I was doing right then and i told him I was tired and was going to go to sleep. but "ES TEMPRANO!" (IT´S EARLY!) The younger guy asked me if I wanted to go sit somewhere and have a coffee or a drink. (I though he meant ALL THREE OF US so I said yes). But it turns out he meant just the two of us. oh go, it was like torture. ok, in the beginning it was okay. he was asking me questions about America and I was asking him questions about Argentina. (Like is there a beach near Buenos Aires? Thigs like that.) but then he started asking me about my personal life. what was i doing here? how could i leave my family and friends and come here without knowing anyone? he kept saying he just didn´t understand. it was really annoying. Then he askedme if we could be "NOVIOS" (boyfirned +Girlfriend!) i was thinking EW ARE YOU KIDDING ME?? I made up an excuse, that i was only 25 and he was way too old for me. ha ha ha.

I was thinking what a funny night it was as i walked up the steps to the hostel. I bumped right into a lively group of young people playing pool and drinking. They introduced themselves to me, one guy from Germany, one from Britain, one guy and one girl from Columbia and five guys from China! I was so excited to meet some people at the hostel! After some more chatting, the girl from Colombia, Paula, asked me did I want a drink? Because she knew this place (The Bataclana) thats turning into a club tonight and they are owned by the same place as the hostel and so there will be a deal; we can pay 5 pesos and drink all we want! So i said sure (bearingin mind that the next day was Labor Day in Arg. and everything was closed and no one worked so no one would even be able to respond to my resumes).

So five of us from the hostel headed to the club. They were playing alot of reggaeton and we were drinking and dancing and it was off the hook. Then this tango-y song came on and everyone was getting in partners. And this (pretty good-looking) guy grabbed me to dance and I tried to him "no puedo ...." (i can´t dance) but he told me, very nicely, "shhh" and proceeded to lead me all over the floor with turns and twists in time to the beat. It was so much fun!!

He was such and a good dancer! And I am so glad I danced with him.


Advertisement



13th May 2009

glad to hear...
Hey, I am reading all of your posts! I want MORE!!! love, Shosh
14th May 2009

Hello ~
Charise ~ Hey! I did comment on your first post, so you might want to check with the site to see what happened to it... I am glad you are having fun, but promise me you won't go following 40 year-old men to bars alone again! Especially when he started asking if you had any friends/family, very creepy. Hope the other hostel stayer are fun and that you are getting settled. What a grand adventure! Much love, Jodi
18th May 2009

The funny thing is, I didn't understand that it was just going to be the two of us, (I mean there were plenty of ppl at the bar, too and it was very close to the hostel) I had thought the older dude was coming too, as a sort of buffer zone! But it didn't pan out that way!
18th May 2009

Dear Shosh, Thanks for reading! What's going on with you? Love and miss, Charise

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb