Been a little while


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
April 20th 2009
Published: April 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Juan B Justo Juan B Justo Juan B Justo

I've put these up in the Graffiti blog, but I'm not sure if you've seen it or not. Being as they are the only pictures I have I'm putting them up.
So it has been a little while since I put a blog up. Part of that is I haven't taken many pictures in a while. The new area is lovely, but I've sort of hit all of the sights in Bs As so I haven't taken as many pictures. That doesn't mean I haven't been busy. Well this last week wasn't very busy because I got sick and was stuck to my bed for much of the week. It was just a cold, but I wanted to make sure I had it cleared up for the weekend. On Easter weekend-before I got sick-we had a pot luck dinner for the Easter holiday. It ended up being almost entirely vegan, which is quite difficult to do in Buenos Aires. It turned out to be quite a good meal. It was held at Julia's, who lives in a house in Palermo, which has a rooftop terrace, where we sat and ate. It's one of the few places in the city where you can see the stars, which is wonderful.
These events are probably out of order, because I'm just writing them down as I remember them. Remembering what has happened in the past
Juan B Justo 2Juan B Justo 2Juan B Justo 2

Oh yea, and they are called Juan B Justo because that's the street they are on.
two weeks is surprisingly difficult. Last Thursday-the 9th I think- it was Ayla's birthday, so we went out to Green Bamboo again for Vietnamese food. Afterward we traveled to Acabar which is a relatively close bar in Palermo. It is a gigantic sit down bar which has a massive game collection. I've been there twice in the past two weeks and have played both their massive jenga and Spanish trivial pursuit.
Also for Ayla's birthday we met at Parque 3 de Febrero, which is the park with the rose garden. I've already put up pictures from here and described it so I won't dwell on the place. The odd thing was that we saw a person dressed up like a disney princess, just out with her family. She looked about 16 or so. I tried to get a picture and will included it, but it is difficult to see.
This Thursday we finally made the trip to see Hollywood in Cambodia's graffiti gallery. We'd visited the bar multiple times before, but never in time to see the upstairs gallery. This time we made it. Rundon'twalk was putting on the gallery and I bought a shirt of theirs. I didn't get
Juan B Justo 3Juan B Justo 3Juan B Justo 3

It runs right along the train tracks and has a lot of walls for graffiti.
any pictures of the stuff, but have a booklet I got with the shirt that has all the images in them. Ask me when I get back if you want to see, they were pretty interesting. The great thing about going on Thursday, is the bar has free pizza if you order a drink. The pizza isn't that great, but it is free. Also that have a drink called a Jimi Hendrix which is incredible and made with some orange juice so it helped me get better.
Saturday we traveled to a place called Casa Bar because my friend Heather got a job as a waitress there. I discovered that they show NBA and NHL games, so I'm probably going back there tonight to watch the Bulls. It was nice, but nothing too much to note other than great service.
Yesterday was the superclasico or the Boca River game. Boca and River are the two football teams here and their game is a pretty huge event. I found a place to eat and watch it, but the only open seat was outside, so I was watching a 14 inch tv hung on the other side of the cafe through a
Lips BridgeLips BridgeLips Bridge

There are also bridges that they can put stuff up on.
window. I left at half time because I couldn't see the ball, score or time on it. I was pretty mad because it ended in a tie. That's about it for now. This weekend I'll go to Uruguay and am going to book a trip to calafate. I'll keep you updated.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Girl in dressGirl in dress
Girl in dress

This is the girl in the dress on parque 3 de febrero
ShuttersShutters
Shutters

These are my shutters. I live in the I am Legend house.
Juan B Justo 4Juan B Justo 4
Juan B Justo 4

One of my favorites in the whole city. It's pretty big. If you can see the hand print off to the right, it's about the size of a regular hand print for some scale.


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb