Beginning in Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
February 17th 2009
Published: February 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So the travels begin and this will hopefully give you a little snapshot of what I´m up to. I´ll let the pictures do more of the talking. Enjoy.

I arrived at Buenos Aires after a long flight, three films, three meals (!?) and feeling a little terrified.

It wasn´t long until I found two two girls heading in the same direction as me and looking just as lost. We were soon directed by a kind old Argentinian lady onto the right bus and she sat waving us off for at least the first 10 minutes of the journey from another bus adjacent to us.

I arrived at the first hostel and spent my first night chatting to a French girl from my room who invited me to spend the night at a Tango lesson. Unfortunately, flip flops aren´t really the best shoes to dance in so I did more watching than participating. Plenty of time for Tango!

The next couple of days consisted of a lot of walking, a lot of sight seeing and a few pints (ok a lot!) of beer with people I met in the hostel. They were very well deserved if I do say so myself.

Buenos Aires is an amazing place with so many cities rolled into one. A little bit of Paris, London and even Krakow. I´ve seen the cemetry where Eva Peron is laid. It´s more like a small town for the dead! Very spooky. The zoo, the coloured houses in La Boca, Buenos Aires´equivalent to Oxford Street, plus lots of meeting and chatting with people in the hostels. It´s amazing listening to everybody´s different travel plans.

A few highlights were seeing seeing Boca Juniors (famour for players such as Maradona and of course, Tevez) play at Boca football stadium, the wildest football match I´ve ever seen. You´re squashed into a standing stadium where drums and music are played continously despite Boca being 2-0 down. You wouldn´t see that at West Ham! Unfortunately, Maradona wasn´t present at this game as he normally is but we did see a fair few lookalikies. They do love a mullet over here!

Monday night we visited a music night called La Bomba, a drum band. They certainly gave the place a South America atmosphere and also provided HUGE beers so you can say that some fun was had. Afterwards we tried some local delicies, empanadas, which I tried to convince people were just small cornish pasties. Tasty though!

It´s been a great start to the week and I´m looking forward to my return to BA in 8 weeks.

For now, I´m heading onwards to Uruguay for a change of scenery.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Big beersBig beers
Big beers

At La Bomba, a drum club in Buenos Aires
San Telmo San Telmo
San Telmo

The Sunday market
I want one of theseI want one of these
I want one of these

Antiques in San Telmo market
Recoleta cemetryRecoleta cemetry
Recoleta cemetry

Eeery alley-ways


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb