Buenos Aires so far


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
January 3rd 2009
Published: January 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Very funny street performer in San Telmo 24 secs
Travel Day 1-1-09Travel Day 1-1-09Travel Day 1-1-09

These are from the flight, etc
(We are having problems with linking pictures, so later today; we will post a link to a picture site)


Well it's been a strange 24 hours but already very rewarding. We made it safely to our home. It actually is in a pretty part of town. We are staying with Lucas Kama in Barrio Norte. He works with Hispan Aires (the school Jenn and I will attend on Monday) or is affiliated in some way.

IMG_1126.CR2

It is a huge house that it seems to be something they are making into a hostel. For now, only Jenn and I stay here but they are treating us very well. We only planned to stay at this house to Sunday but Lucas, his sister Veronica and their friends (kind of like staff) have been so nice that we don't have much choice otherwise.

Any way, when we got here, Jenn went to sleep. Neither of us slept on the plane but I can’t sleep knowing there is so much to do. So I did just the opposite, I went for a run around the city.

Here are my initial impressions:

-It is a lot like most U.S. major cities. There are some things that are different. I’d say the biggest is most likely that it isn’t as clean as US cities. There's a lot of trash, dirt and in general holes in the ground. Oh, I almost forgot… there are stray dogs everywhere. They are all really relaxed though, and usually you think they are with someone until you realized, no one is around them.

-Other than that, I have only seen one homeless person and very few peddlers. It’s very warm and the locals seem to be pleasant enough folks. I sort of expected that more people would speak English well but that is not really the case. I’m going to have to hone my Spanish skills in down periods or do it on the fly.

When Jenn woke up we went downtown for some shopping in Palmero and Barrio Norte. Interacting with locals is hard because they really don't speak any English. We went to this local pizza place for lunch and they made us tell them how hot the food should be and a bunch of questions and customs that I was not used to.

We then went to tango. Well, Jennifer did in fact do the tango. I watched and an enjoyed a few local brews from the bar and picked up what appears to be the Spanish custom of smoking. The tango is so interesting because it is such a difficult dance to do well but really impressive. I thought about joining the beginners group but when I noticed everyone else had dance shoes and I had pumas, that's when I was out.

Jenn and I made a few friends the first. We plan to hang out and talk to then for the next week, so today laid a good ground work but I have no idea where we are going next. Lucas tells me that soccer season just ended and that is really disappointing. Can anyone out there, help me find a game? Boca (the team here) was world champions; it would have been awesome to see their games. Jenn suggest that we just do a little league game and I tell her, it is not the same.

Any way, Adios. We'll send the pics next.

Justin



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

FriendsFriends
Friends

This is some of our host family, drinking and listening to 80's pop.
Shopping in San TelmoShopping in San Telmo
Shopping in San Telmo

Street performers
San TelmoSan Telmo
San Telmo

Shopping wasn't even bad...
San Telmo StreetsSan Telmo Streets
San Telmo Streets

Streets in an neighbor hood of Buenos Aires
Street BandsStreet Bands
Street Bands

in San Telmo
San TelmoSan Telmo
San Telmo

for JoEllen
Sal TelmoSal Telmo
Sal Telmo

There were a lot of artists and street performers there. We have videos!


4th January 2009

The Art of Traveling
I went out for some DVD's to watch over the holidays and strangely there is a DVD called the art of traveling. About a person traveling in South America. I plan to watch it tommarrow. How's the weather in Argnetina? Yo, Momma
4th January 2009

Yay!
First day in Buenos Aires, and you upload a shot of Sea-Tac, huh? Justin, did you insist on taking those pictures? ;) You guys look excited. Although, my backpack is way small on you, Justin. It sounded like fun - I wish I was there. Glad you're blogging. Keep it up!
5th January 2009

justin's idea
Justin refused to start the trip with out properly documenting their departure. Then when they went though the entrance doors at Sea-Tac.. I saw Justin jump up and down a couple of times. excitement?!?
5th January 2009

Those are concertina's!
Sweet! Didya get a video?
23rd January 2009

that is true
now we can compare how tan we are verus that time!

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb