well enough


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
October 18th 2008
Published: October 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So just the other day I finished my spanish class (and passed with flying colors of course), thus inaugurating a new etapa of my time here. With classes only on Monday and Tuesday now, and no other commitments but rowing and yoga, I find myself faced once again with extremely copious quantities of free time, which if not filled properly risk becoming the anxiety-ridden abysses of idleness into which I occasionally slipped during the beginning of my time here. Luckily, the risk is small because a lot of things have changed since then. For one, I just conquered, finally, my sleep issues (turns out it was the pseudoefedrina I was taking in the evenings). The result of this will be that I’ll be able to animate myself to do lots more things that, despite my desperate desire to fill the day, occassionally just seemed like too much work in that other epoch. Also when one is not sleep deprived it’s much easier to just sit around and read: one doesn’t have to be moving around constantly in an effort to distract oneself from one’s exhaustion. The lovely spring weather and the preponderance of beautiful parks are also helpful in that respect.

More importantly, though, I’ve learned. I’m more comfortable navigating the city and I think will be a little less likely to run into all the awkwardness I have been encountering during my time here. I’ve also thought of an ample list of possible cool activities. For example, the other day I decided to just go to the end of one of the subway lines, in order to break out from the 6 stop-stretch in which I’m confined most of the time and to see some of 70% of the city in which I’ve never set foot. So I emerged in a completely unfamiliar area and walked around aimlessly, utterly losing myself (but never really, thanks to my trusty guia-T). Then I drank some coffee, wrote the last entry in this blog, and had some lunch. It was marvelous, and there are at least 3 more lines that will lend themselves to such adventures. Also on my to-do list, lots of café-concerts and plays- it’s a grevious fault of mine that I’ve never been to any jazz clubs in this city.

Most importantly of all (have you noticed the building structure of significance in this entry?) is to travel. I suppose I’ve travelled bastante already, but actually I’ve been holding off on my major destinations until I finished with the spanish class. My plan is to spread 2-3 trips out through the next few weeks, the destinations of which will include uruguay, some small atlantic coastal town, and possibly mendoza (hence the range). That should take me more or less to the weeks leading up to finals, after which, ojala, will be the Epic Patagonian Adventure of a Lifetime. That’s still up in the air though.

So I suppose it could be said of my life that things are going bastante bien.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb