Perdon!!!


Advertisement
Published: April 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I can't believe it's been a month! I almost expected this to happen...but I do want to update everyone on what I've learned so far...
My friend Emma's parents are visiting BsAs this week from Boston and they took the two of us out to dinner last night! I met the three of them at the restuarant and instead of shaking hands I gave them both a kiss on the cheek...surprising even myself!! I guess I've gotten used to kissing allll the time - when you meet people, when you say hello in the street, when you say goodbye. And if you meet a room full of people...god forbid you forget to kiss a single person!
During dinner Emma and I translated for them...not only the language but the customs, too. We tried to explain how different things are - even ordering at a restauarant or a cafe. It's rude in the US to flag down your waitress, but here you won't be waited on unless you literally flag them down.
Lately, my friends and I have been talking about a few aspects of Argentine culture: First, How do they live so long and drink coffee all day, drink coke allll the time, smoke everywhere, eat tons of meat, salt, and sugar??? We haven't been able to figure that out yet...Then again at the same time, los portenhos (people of BsAs) are really very beautiful people (and stylish, too). Second, Why are people so rude here? When you walk down the street, people push and don't even turn around, it's not rude to look someone up and down, it's not rude to give looks and it's whatever you may say is rarely rude. But this one we've begun to figure out. These people may have a tough exterior and a little bit of an attitude, but if you are introduced to a friend of a friend or if you get to know a person, they really open up and are actually very sweet. Americans, on the other hand, are so polite and friendly at first, but once you get to know them, not all of them are so.
Making friends with Americans here hasn't been as easy as I thought it would be the first week. I'm learning that friendships do take a long to build. But don't get me wrong - I have lots of friends here and a few closer ones.
Last night, Emma, her parents and I shared a cab ride home. After Emma got out, Emma's parents - both world travelers - told me something that made me feel good about my first month here. They told me that this place is unlike any other place they have ever been - granted it's not India - and that for me to feel at home in a city like this is an accomplishment.
I have sooo much more to say! From now I on I will try to discipline myself and make time for writing...
Un beso!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb