Frisbee in Buenos?


Advertisement
Published: March 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Walking around the many parks near my house, the only sport being played is soccer. It is impossible to walk into a park holding a frisbee and expect to find someone to play with. That being said, read on.

Today after orientation, I walked with a couple friends from the program (from Georgetown) to Boca (or so we thought). After about 15 blocks, I decided to take a look at the map and didn't see any of the street names near where I thought we were. We had walked in the wrong direction and were now much closer to Palermo than anything else, so decided to go there. During the walk, I had discovered that one of the girls plays frisbee on the Georgetown team, and the other enjoys playing a lot. So, I offered that we could pick up my frisbee and go to a nearby park to play. So we did. Although I had brought my frisbee for exactly this reason, I couldn't believe that I was playing frisbee in Buenos Aires.

After a bit, a young boy walked by cautiously and watched our game for a bit, looking hopeful and expectant. So, I tossed him the frisbee and he caught it. I was very impressed at his instant frisbee skills, and he hung out for the rest of the time learning how to throw and catch. I had a great time teaching him, Rodrigo, and expected that any minute his family would be coming by to pick him up. Why else would he be running around a park alone? But, no family showed up, and soon we decided to leave (I needed a nap), and Rodrigo ran off down the street. But not before telling us that he'd had a lot of fun and liked frisbee!

This episode gives me hope that I can bring Ultimate to Argentina...maybe start a weekly game somewhere with fellow UBA students...we'll see.

Advertisement



3rd March 2008

INTERNATIONAL FRISBEES
HAHA. I CANT FIGURE OUT HOW TO UNCAPS THIS BUT YOU INSPIRED ME TO BRING MINE TO JERU. OR MORE APPROPRIATELY YOURS THAT I ACQUIRED FROM YOU TO JERU. STILL WAITING TO PLAY THOUGH! LOVE YOU JOSE!
4th March 2008

YES!
I Met even more frisbee friends today! One of them was wearing Humboldt Ultimate shirt...so I said hey...
22nd March 2008

that would fucking awesome like opossum! what a cool kid for coming up to play. i'm glad you threw him the disc. he must have been thrilled.

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb