Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
February 23rd 2008
Published: February 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

P1010535P1010535P1010535

Rosa Casada, the red government building and balcony where Evita stood!
After two and a half days travelling with free camping in between we arrived in Buenos Aires on Friday lunchtime feeling fed up of driving and desperately in need of a shower. We are staying in a hotel in Buenos Aires and are here till Monday so it´s nice to stop and have a proper base for a while.

I am enjoying it here, it is a very nice city and definitely has a good atmosphere. Our hotel is fairly central and I have found it quite easy to get around. On Friday afternoon I went on a city tour to get a general overview on the city and although it wasn´t that informative I think it helped me work out where places are and go to places I might not have bothered going to, for example, we went to the La Boca neighbourhood where the big football team Boca Juniors have their stadium. The area is poor and the houses, built of leftover material, is painted bright colours so it´s very pretty.

Last night the rest of the group went out for steak (a big part of Argentinian diet) but obviously I didn´t go so the veggies went out for a meal and a few drinks and met up with the others after. Today I have done a bit of clothes shopping in the city as things are so cheap and they have a lot of nice clothes. I mostly bought practical things as I realised I really didn´t pack enough tops. Tonight we are going to a tango show, another big part of Argentinian culture.

I plan to spend the others days here sightseeing before we leave the hotel to meet up with Moose again (our truck) and begin the long drive to Ushuaia only stopping for a day trip in Puerto Madyrn to see lots of wildlife!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

P1010541P1010541
P1010541

Boca Juniors stadium
P1010558P1010558
P1010558

16 (or 20??) lane street


Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.039s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0711s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb