Buenos Aires - A sad goodbye


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
February 8th 2008
Published: February 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

For my final week my classes were switched to morning, which to certain extent meant the end of late night bar crawling but did open up opportunities for afternoon shopping, long lunches, naps and visiting the odd museum (and the odd late night bar crawling).

On the Thursday I had my final meal at home with my Argy folks. It was very nice and Patricia was kind enough to say (lie) that my spanish had improved a lot since I arrived. Ironially I wasnt able to translate this compliment in my head and she had to repeat in English. I took some photos of us all together and we said our emotional goodbyes (the following evening they were visiting a firend and would not be around much before my flight on saturday).

My final day at the school concluded with a barbeque on the roof and the presentation of certificates for the leavers. Speaches in Spainsh were mandatory before you got your certificate. I kept mine short and sweet in an attempt to avoid gramatical embaressment. I was not completely successful but i got my message across.

With my certificate in hand i bid my farewells to the staff and with the evening free, i headed straight to the bars. Combining the Englsih tradition of early afternoon drinking with the Latin American tradition of continuing to party into the wee hours meant i spent Saturday trying to walk off the effects of banging hangover before my flight in the early evening.

Im glad to say I managed to get to the airport and with relatively little in the way of a crisis and with some sadness (i didnt cry or nothin left Argentina behind).


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb