Food Poisoning (i.e. champagne before dinner)


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
January 30th 2008
Published: January 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi guys. I just thought that I would share a valuable lesson that I learned last night with you. Do Not drink champagne before trying to

eat a massive steak dinner. Anna from New York left today and to see her off we went to a snazzy steak restraunt in Polermo. We had

ten people in our party so we had to wait about and hour and a half, which wasnt so bad because the hostess kept giving us free wine

and champagne. I really didnt think that champagne would have the effect that it did on me. I have drank it many times before but this

time I will never forget. We finally got our table and we ordered our food. I chose a steak, ofcourse, and we had a bottle of wine while

we waited. I hadnt eaten since 2pm and it was now around midnight. I felt pretty bad at this point but pressed on. The steaks came

out. Holy crap. No one would agree with me but I swore these were family portions. I had three steaks covered in bacon on my plate.

not really a plate but more like a cutting board, palet looking device. I had a few bites and started to feel really shitty. I mustve downed

one by the time that everyone else was done and noticed my delayed pace. They were having a good laugh at me and I guess I joined in

but man, I felt awful at this point. We finally ordered the check and not a moment sooner. I was turning pale white. At first I thought it

food poisoning but Claudia, a girl in my class, said I was dumb and drank champagne on an empty stomach. I agree with her because I

have had food poisoning before. It is kind of a euphoric feeling and this definetly was not. I made it back to the apartment but barely

slept at all because of the stomach pains. So there. Learn from my mistakes, no champagne on an empty stomach.



I know this has pretty much nothing to do with living in a foreign country but I thought that I would include you in my life, OK? Geez.


On monday I was put into a new class with a few new classmates. I still have Claudia so thats all that matters. I like to bug her about her

Tango teacher, Pablo, who resembles a really sleezy Antonio Banderas with slightly crooked teeth. I shouldnt be so mean, I actually

talked with him and he is a nice guy. I am just jealous. This guy does magic on the dance floor. I have taken a few lessons and

understand how much skill he has. Well the new class is ok except for I feel that I dont belong in such an advanced level. I can barely

keep up most of the time. I can understand most of what the profesoro says but cant answer questions quick enough. Espanol es muy

dificil. Claudia doenst like the teacher, Juan, and looks pissed off most of the time. She doesnt like his teaching methods. He kinda skims

through the book and asks us random quetions. I agree with her, he could probably plan a little more but I am still learning from him.

I am still in afternoon classes thankfully so I get to sleep in till noon everyday. I love it. Eveyone stays out till 2am anyways so I get to go

out everynight and also get a full nights rest (10+ hours).


Tomorrow is futbol. I love playing. I am horrible at it. I dont care. I actually trip on my own teammates and fall down. The funny thing is

that I am the only American in the place out of 30. I wish another would come out so that I wouldnt look so bad. I almost scored (not

made) a goal last game. I get set up for a shot and always end up not kicking it right or tripping or something. Mike, I need you here so

we can show them a decent football player from America.


Anyways, I am going to go now. I will post some random pics on here for you to enjoy. Saturday I leave for Bariloche via a 24hour bus

ride. That oughta be nice. Hasta Luego! -Eric


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



31st January 2008

I'm on my way....
Hey thanks for the nod!! Now I can claim I'm world renowned!! That's a nice looking bike, you get to ride while you're out there?
1st February 2008

Mike, I am renting a bike in Bariloche next week. It is a mountain/ski town in the offseason. Kinda spread out. I will try to keep the rubber down.
3rd February 2008

Champagne
Champagne on empty stomach, good lesson to learn. Another lesson, for future, don't mix with wine. You wasted a good meal.

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0621s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb