Big Night Out


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
January 26th 2008
Published: January 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The other night was pretty crazy. Their wednesays are our fridays/saturdays. Everyone gets out of work around 6 or 7 and heads to the clubs. I am not much of a club going guy but I dont know what it is here. I like to dance now. I had some Tango lessons and found out I dont suck at dancing. Not that club dancing is anything like Tango but it has instilled some dance floor confidence in me. After school we go to dinner at Laborio, a snazzy steak joint where you can get a steak and a bottle of wine for about 15 bucks, and enjoy a beer or four. It was my good english friend Ken's last night in town. After the delicious meal, as always, we decide on going to Club Museo. I have heard about this place but always avoided it because of the hype. Clubs are usually described by hung over friends who made out with some random chick who's apperance is usually exagerated a tiny bit. This place was said to be huge and loaded with chicks(chicas). Riggghhhttt. We go to the front door and I find out that there is a list designated for us byt he school coordianterand we get in for free. Thats a good start. The moment we enter I find out that the hungover stories are true. This place is amazing.

I really dont enjoy being crammed in with a plethera of personas and here it was unavoidable. Once we made out way through the enormous crowd we decided on who was buying the first round. Ken. He bought each a CubaLibre. Rum and coke. Here they dont mix the drinks for you, they hand you a glass about 3/4 full on rum and a can of coke. These cost about 12 pesos, 4 dollars. We head upstairs and find the rest of the crew that we had lost in the crowd. I will include pictures. holy crap. This place is huge. The rest of the night involved cheesy 80's music, about 8 cigarettes, and me getting to know a pretty dutch girl very well. I have yet to meet a Dutch person that I didnt like. I must visit Holland sometime. To clarify Holland, they are also called the Netherlands and are known as the Dutch. Weird, I know, but the Dutch are weird. Not really. I didnt leave the club until about 3am. The next day I was so tired and just ughh.

It was prestty funny. My classmate, James, was with me the night before and looked about the same as me. He is English so he always kinda looks funny but this time he had the entire hangover package. Bags under the eyes and such. I was out of it for most of the first half of class until the teacher started going over some vocabulary. Verbs to be specific. She brought up Coger. Coger means to ride as in to ride a cab, taxi, bus. She said that in Argentina people dont use Coger because it is slang for "fuck". Now this might not sound like much but the profesora has never cussed yet alone say the worst word in the English language. It woke me right up. I couldnt help but laugh. The next best thing is when she explained that the smurfs were known as "Putifos" in South America. These are the words that I will never forget in the Spanish language. Putifos and Coger, to Fuck.

This has been a short entry but I will add more after this weekend. I will be attending the River/Boca Futbol game in Plata Del Mar. Thats right, I called it futbol. They tell us to wear neutral colors and to not look anyone in the eye. I will report back later. Wish me luck. Chau.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



26th January 2008

Finally!!
After all this time, you're finally coming around to the game I live and breathe. Congratulations!! You looked drunk as fuck by the way.....that's my boy!
30th January 2008

wtf?
what's up with quasi moto? Explanation please...

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb