Night Life (and they mean it)


Advertisement
Published: July 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I didn´t wake up until about 1 pm today. This is because last night I sampled the famous Porteño nightlife. The nightclubs here don´t even open until 1 am (a time that until very recently saw the clubs in Arizona CLOSING), but anybody who´s anybody doesn´t show up until at least 2:30. The festivites last until around 5 am. I had dinner at my homestay at 9, and then after a few hours got dressed and went out. There is a small plaza (more of a large round-a-bout) in Palermo Soho (my hood) that is surrounded by restaurants, bars, and nightclubs. I took a taxi there (it´s not far, but the neighborhood in between doesn´t have much street traffic or light). As it was still too early for the dance clubs, I hit the bars first. The first place I went to was a coctail lounge called Congos. The guidebook said they had live lounge music, but aparently this was an off day. It kind of sucked. People sat in little sofa pods with their friends and nobody was mingling. So I moved on.

My next stop was República de Acá (literally- The Republic of Here), a comedy/karaoke bar. When I got up to sing (Man, I feel Like a Woman by Shania Twain), I hammed it up big time and (I almost typed entonces) afterwards had three separate beers delivered to my table. And no, Argentine beer is no more palatable than any others. I gave it to the people at the next table. Oh, and the MC did stand up comedy between acts. I understood most of it, and was able to heckle in spanish.

Finally, it was a socially acceptable time to go to the true destination of the night, Brujas (Witches in English). This was on the recommendation of other people who know Palermo. While it wasn´t Vegas part 2, I still had a lot of fun and danced with several different people.

Anyhow, when I finally woke this morning, I decided to walk around Palermo Soho during daylight hours, as I have yet to. I understand why they call this place Soho. The shops and the feel is very New York, and very bohemian. When I went to the plaza/roundabout where the clubs are, I found a huge crafts fair. Bruja had opened their doors to the venders, and the whole club was filled with clothing booths. Pretty cool, the community cooperation.




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



9th July 2007

Wonder Bread
The bread art is kewl!
11th July 2007

hi
what do they put on the bread there
11th July 2007

Dulce De Leche is the most common spread for bread here. Yeah. Caramel. Yet somehow, they do not have skyrocketing diabetes rates. Interesting.

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0644s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb