The Pink House


Advertisement
Published: July 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After class yesterday, I went with one of the other students to try and see the Casa Rosada. We have a White House, in Argentina they have a Pink House. This used to be where their president lived (not sure from when to when), but most importantly it was where the Juan and Eva Peron lived. Today it houses the executive offices, but is no longer a residence. It is in Plaza de Mayo, which is the true downtown where all subte lines end.

Anyhow, turns out they are renovating the house and museum, and it is closed to the public for an entire year. Ah well. There is an Evita museum close to where I’m staying, and I can always visit that one another time.

Anyhow, we ended up going into a famous cathedral, the Catedral Metropolitana, which was built around 1700 and houses the tomb of General San Martin.

All and all, I have yet to see my own neighborhood during daylight hours. I shall have to explore it one of these days.

It’s interesting. I assumed that coming to Argentina I’d be meeting people from far away places. The girl I went sightseeing
Casa RosadaCasa RosadaCasa Rosada

This is the balcony that Evita waved from
with today lives exactly one block from my old apartment in San Francisco. Small world, eh?

Ah, and Happy 4th of July.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



11th July 2007

pretty in pink
you look really pretty in that pic in front of the pink bldg
11th July 2007

Thanks!

Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0739s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb