Big City Downtown


Advertisement
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Buenos Aires after 9:00 last night. I felt like Madonna getting off the train in Evita. Cheesy I know, but it’s true. I’m staying in a neighborhood called Palermo, which is said to be hip and bohemian. I know that at 9:30 on a Sunday night it was hopping, so I’m guessing it’s true. I haven’t had a chance to explore yet, as my classes began early this morning. It’s a lot easier to get here than it was to get to school in Bariloche. I’m staying with a woman who lives two blocks from the subte estación (subway station) and my school is four blocks from the stop downtown. I have a tango lesson downtown this evening, so I plan to stick around and explore here for the afternoon.

The school is quite different. There are about a dozen students here (only one not from an English speaking country) and classes are in the morning instead of the afternoon. I prefer it that way, as I have a lot more free time during the day. I’m in a group class with one other student, an art professor from upstate New York. She’s one unit behind where I finished in Bariloche (the communication between campuses needs some tweaking), but the headmistress here is working to fix the problem. I really want to remain in a group class, as it is a different experience that way.

One thing I don’t think is great is that during the breaks, everybody speaks English. Ah well, I’ll meet more people soon. Perhaps through Tango lessons. One free lesson at a local tango school is included with the program, and if I wish to continue they only cost 9 pesos (a little less than $3) for an hour and a half lesson.

Hasta Luego.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb