Buenos Aires - the beginning


Advertisement
Published: March 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Alright, after a bunch of really late blogs on Spain, I’m finally ready to get started on Argentina!

There has been lots of moving around for me lately, with moving from Atlanta, driving to Baltimore, flying to LA, and I think it’s starting to take its toll. I am tired. And tired of moving. I have one more move tomorrow, and then I’ll be in one place for a whole month. Brilliant. I realized, much too late, that I totally over-packed! 😊 For those of you coming to visit, take my advice: pare it down. You can buy anything you forget or decide you need, but you’ll be better served taking less stuff. They have laudromats where, for a really small fee, someone will wash and fold your clothes for you. I think they deliver it back to you, as well. Not a bad deal.

Right now, I’m sitting in my hostel in the Recoleta neighborhood of Buenos Aires, next to German woman, an American woman of Afghani descent, a French woman, a Dutch man, and a man who speaks French, Spanish, and English but I have no clue where he’s from. All these folks can communicate through Spanish. I love that about traveling. What is really frustrating right now, though, is the language barrier. I’m surrounded by fluent Spanish speakers from all over the world and I’m just quiet. Grrr. Frustrating! I want so badly to be able to understand and communicate with the people around me, but can’t really do so. This feeling should help me work really hard to learn Spanish. But that’s what I came down here for. This is what immersion is and I’ll end up better for it (or so I keep telling myself). But y’all know I’m a perfectionist - I want to already be fluent - or at least conversational!

Ok so that’s the bad. The good is much better. I have met English-speakers, so I’m not totally isolated from those around me. My hostel is in a really cool old building that could be absolutely amazing if there was money to upgrade it. It’s run by a Californian ex-pat whose dad is from BA and who’s mom still lives in So. Cal. It’s has ridiculously high ceilings and takes up 3 floors. The second floor has a great open terrace where everyone comes to hang out, cook, eat, and chat. My room is private with an ensuite bathroom. The toilet, shower, and sink are continuous, without any separation - every shower wets down the whole bathroom! The other funky thing about it is the key. One side of the key lets you into the building’s front door and the other side lets you into the hostel door. Very inventive.

I’ve done some wandering around in the 2 days I’ve been here. The weather was amazing the first day. Bright and sunny, a light wind, probably 75 degrees. Gorgeous. I was out and got terribly lost in a 5-block radius of my hostel - ridiculous, I know. I passed the same street at least 3 times! Finally, I found a bookstore where I got a better map, sat at a cafe for some coffee and an empanada, and located my way home. It turns out Palermo is northwest of Recoleta, not southeast. Now I know!

Today was more wandering. I ended up at the Botanical Gardens… Now, I’ve been to a few botanical gardens in the world and this one bears no comparison. It’s just not that interesting. They had eucalyptus trees and junipers. I guess that’s exotic down here…? The thing that really got to me was the cats. There are cats everywhere in that garden! Big ones, little one, fat ones, skinny ones. I’m not sure what they survive on but they’re definitely thriving. It’s their turf for sure. Freaked me out a bit, to be honest.

That’s the beginning. I’m reaching out and meeting people. Slowly but surely, I’ll start to feel more comfortable here. I’ll update the pictures soon! Stay in touch!


Advertisement



4th March 2007

What pictures?
Hi. Did you mean you'd upload the pictures? I don't see any. Glad to know you are safe and getting your bearings. Will send the Goldseker family contacts ASAP. What are you going to do about a cell phone? Any thing? Love you. See you very soon. Mom
4th March 2007

Need help....
Well, i gues you are going to have a lot of fun and get to knew every culture from over the world....And about the language problem....I can help you with the dutch language....If you want to know something...haha Try to get some rest before school starts , but also have a lot of fun.... Loves Marjolein
7th March 2007

love and xxxxxxooooo's
glad to see you are settled in and finding your way. Moving is hard but very exciting with new adventure around every turn. You will be communicating in a matter of days and I am sure by the time I come in May it will be all Spanish! Thisngs are good here Barbados was a blast and Gel met many of the Polo folks. Try to make the connection with Dutch and see if he can help with the horse connection. Gel says Mario also has ranch connects as well. Well early morning so off to bed with me. Mom had her colonoscopy today and is sleeping but told not to come back for 10 yrs as everything was perfect! Luv u Dad
10th March 2007

hola chica, sueno como estas bien. ten paciencia! vas a aprender la lengua ante de tu lo sabes. what an adventure. take it slow and let it come to you - - you'll know the city like the back of your hand by the time i get there and you'll be ordering drinks and food guiding us around. keep the updates comin'. can't wait to see you. te amo, 8

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb