back to Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
January 23rd 2007
Published: January 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I just got back from Bariloche, which is right on the border of Chile and South Argentina in the Patagonias. It was in the mountains and surrounded a lake and had streets that ran up and down many foothills, which reminded me of San Francisco, only not as big.
One of the crazier moments was when I went white water rafting. There was this great deal where you could go rafting, spend the night in the mountains, then go horse back riding the next day.....
I definitely didn´t pass up the opportunity. We rolled up the mountain and flew down class 4 rapids all the way to the border of chile-argentina. When we got off the rafts, I looked up and saw a sign that said ¨chile¨on it. There were snow capped mountains above and a river that you could swim in below. Afterwards, every one from the trip went back to the starting point and ate and drank as much wine as we wanted (see pictures for details haha).....
I THOUGHT that we were going to go rafting, spend the night in the mountains, then horseback ride the next day, so Chris and I proceeded to play guitar and let the wine flow. By the end of the meal we were sitting in the sun playing guitar and drinking wine (my spanish is much better when I´m not so distracted) but I heard the guide say to come with him soooo, we got in the car and went to where we thought we would relax and build a fire.
But that´s not exactly what happened. When we were dropped off, horses were waiting for us to jump on along with a guide who spoke no english. When I finally realized what was going on, we were already on the horses riding to our campsite to spend the night in the woods. Sooooo, I jumped on the horse, the guide slapped the horse in the behind and off I rode into the sunset (it was getting dark, so the horse was running even faster), mountain to the left of me, and a certain view to my right which, if i got any closer would have meant many bruises and broken bones. Needless to say, I was thinking the whole time about Doc Holiday from ¨Tombstone¨ (I made a costume when i was in 4th grade of doc holiday for halloween, this was even better than that)
When we got to our site, my arse was hurtin. My shoes were too big for the stirrups, so everytime the horse started running, they would slip out and i would be riding like bareback, no way to lift my self off the ground to balance the shock of the horse. But man, that horse could run fast, she was all about not riding on the trail and making her own path too. I got to the campsite, built a fire and passed out under the stars with a stream next to me to soothe me and my achin butt to sleep.
I woke and rode to a waterfall (check out the pictures), rode to an outlook, ate some lunch back at the campsite and rode back to where we started. I think the horses were in chill mode that day because they definitely took it easy going back.....or maybe I was just sober that time around, either way, it was a lazy, cowboy song playing, stop when the horses want to eat some grass kind of trip back.... which was fine with me.

Alright, to be continued.....here are some pictures



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



24th January 2007

Looking good, boys!
=), I love this story. You guys are awesome... riding horses drunk, i want to come and join!!! the pictures are great. i'm so happy you guys are going on adventures and traveling a part of the world. one of the best things to do! cant wait to see you two again! keep up the stories, tommy! Much Love, Laura
24th January 2007

man, that sounds awesome Holiday. I won't tell anyone why your ass was really hurting up there on Brokeback Mountain, hah hah
26th January 2007

whereabout of Doc Holiday
hey man, give me your address so I can Google Earth it and see what it's like

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb