El ojo del toro


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
January 13th 2007
Published: January 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Man if I had come here when I was in 2nd grade I would have been the man! I´ve never seen so many guys with rat tails. Back in the day I loved my rat tail, it was glorious. I cut it off in 3rd grade and I´ve regretted it ever since, especially now.
I just read an article about a neighborhood called "la villa miseria". It´s one of the poorest neighborhoods in Buenos Aires and is supposedly very violent, but a certain type of music called "cumbia villera" came from this area and has grown very popular. There is a part of town called "la boca" that has musicians like this come and play at a bar called "blues special club". Tonight, an area called San Telmo has great music as well as my neighborhood Palermo. It´s a three dollar taxi ride to all these places, so I´m going to try to see as many as I can.
Tomorrow, there is a plaza in San Telmo with a sunday market that sells antiques. Sunday night, a bus leaves Buenos Aires at 11 at night and goes to a part of Argentina called Mendoza. I´ll be on it headed into the mountains and wine country and the sanctuary of Difunta Correa. According to popular legend, Deolinda Correa was a woman whose husband was forcibly recruited around the year 1840, during the Argentine civil wars. Becoming sick, he was then abandoned by the Montoneras . In an attempt to reach her sick husband, Deolinda took her baby child and followed the tracks of the Montoneras through the desert of San Juan Province. When her supplies ran out, she died. Her body was found days later by gauchos that were driving cattle through, and to their astonishment found the baby still alive, feeding from the deceased woman's "miraculously" ever-full breast. The men buried the body in present-day Vallecito, and took the baby with them. She has become an unofficial saint in Argentina and neighboring countries and stands for many things.
I´ll post pictures as soon as I find out how.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0947s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb