Day 12 - Paris to London, England


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas
May 18th 2010
Published: December 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Today was our last day. I was really starting to get depressed now that it was finally here. I got up early and had a drunken shower, and then realized all my stuff was still on the bus. I had to wait until breakfast for Russell to open the doors. I was finally ready and we had to say our first goodbyes immediately. Korryn was staying in Paris as she was going to visit her boyfriend in Nantes, France. Then we drove to the airport, where we said goodbye to Amanda T, Summerlyn, Haley, Albert, Adrien, Duncan, Carli, Erica, Paula, Amanda S, and Lisa. There were way more people leaving in Paris than I thought would be.

There was only 23 people left by the time we were heading out to Calais. The bus was so empty we all got two seats to ourselves. It was a pretty quiet day, and soon enough we were on the ferry, and then back driving the streets of London, where it had all began. London seemed so dready and boring after the excitement of Paris, and I was already missing everyone that was gone. I wasn’t too sure what I was going to do with my three days in London. There was only a few people staying in London for a few days after the tour as well, but I was sure they all had plans already. I figured I’d just try to find things to do on my own.

This was the only day on tour where I actually felt under the weather the whole day. I was starting to get the Contiki cough. I wouldn’t actually get rid of it until a couple weeks after I’d arrived back home. The coach stopped in the courtyard of the Royal National, where 50 of us had left a mere 10 days before. It seemed like a lifetime ago. I said goodbye to the people who weren’t going to see us later that night and headed up to my room. All I wanted was to pass out in bed. A few of us were planning on having dinner that night in the London Pub, so it wasn’t goodbye yet. In my room I met my new roommate who was from Australia, and I’m sad that I can’t even remember her name. But she was very nice, and I told her all about my trip and she told me she was about to go on the London to Athens tour.

At about 9 pm I met her at the London Pub and we chatted for a bit, then I headed inside to find my group. At dinner tonight there was Filippo, Amanda, Chelsea, Candice, Melissa, Steve, Kaitlin, and Bianca. I was the last to arrive, and felt a little out of loop of the conversations they were having. I still was feeling pretty shitty, and all I wanted was to go to bed, but I didn’t want to have to say goodbye to everyone. Eventually everyone decided to call it a night, and it was sad saying goodbye to everyone. During dinner I made plans to meet up with a tourmate the next night for drinks, so at least I knew there was one person I was going to see again. The last person I said goodbye to was Candice in the elevator, and then I was alone. It felt very strange to be alone after constantly being with 50 other people for the last ten days. But I was exhausted, so I went straight to bed and had the best sleep ever 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1007.4kb