KEVIN CHATS WITH CAPTAIN DAG


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Pacific
February 14th 2009
Published: February 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post


As one of the most storied sea captains sailing today, Dag Dvergastein has served on just about every imaginable vessel afloat including cargo, oil, grain, and of course, cruise ships. Born in the small Norwegian fishing village of Nevlunghavn of a seafaring family, Dag went to sea at age 17 and spent three years learning the sailor’s trade on the “Taronga”, a 13,500 ton general cargo ship that carried 12 passengers. After his sea duty he enrolled in the merchant marine academy for three years. Eventually throughout his career he would serve as everything from bo’sun to carpenter to captain.

Dag exudes a genuine graciousness to passengers and crew alike. He might be described best as “a sailor’s sailor.” Tall, tanned, blonde and blue eyed, Dag smiles a beautiful row of white teeth that gives you a sense he was sent here from central casting to play the role of “Captain.”
Approaching our mutual birthdays on February 10th, I asked the Captain if he would allow me to interview him. He called me up to the bridge on a typical stormy day in the Tasman Sea heading west from New Zealand to Australia. As the “Tassie” bounced
Getting his feet WETGetting his feet WETGetting his feet WET

Roger Paperno photo
us around the roaring 40s we had a nice little chat about what brought him to this stage of his life.

Kevin: You’ve served on so many vessels. What’s your favorite ship?
Dag: Every ship I captain becomes my favorite ship. I put a lot of myself into my ship. That might be my biggest problem. Right now it’s the “Voyager.” I started out in passenger ships in 1978 on the old “Blackwatch.” That was a relief job and I liked it very much. The “Song of Flower” was also a great ship with a great tradition.
K: What do you miss the most when out to sea?
D: My family. Kristin, my wife, and my children Dag Kristan and Anette. And my dog.
K: What’s the best part of being at sea?
D: Not having to drive to the office.
K: Would you encourage your son or daughter to pursue a career at sea?
D: No.
K: Why?
D: Let’s face it. You’re gone too much. You become a stranger to your friends and family. You can lose touch with reality. Oh, don’t get me wrong. In 35 years at sea I had some fantastic experiences. But if I started out today I probably wouldn’t do it again. However, I would have worked in the shipping business in some capacity. The shipping industry fascinates me. It is such a busy life---cargo, oil, grain, passengers---it’s a fascinating global business.
K: Who’s your favorite person in history?
D: Winston Churchill. Both as a statesman and a leader.
K: What’s your favorite book?
D: “The Cruise of the Teddy,” by Erling Tambs. He was the first Norwegian to circumnavigate the globe in 1928. He and his wife sailed out of Norway with nothing and she gave birth to 5 children underway. “The Teddy” was also the name of my great grandfather’s pilot boat.
K: Who’s your favorite author?
D: James Michener. He sailed with me down through the Marquesas. His “Tales of the South Pacific” describes in detail my favorite part of the world. He was a wonderful man.
K: Have you ever worked ashore?
D: Oh yes! Finland, France, Italy, Germany, San Francisco. I love Sausalito! I’ve consulted for shipping lines K-Line and Matson and as operations manager in Dubai and Saudi Arabia.
K: How long will you work?
D: I’ve never thought of retirement as a goal in my life. I need a job. But I also feel you should quit while on top. I hope to stand the distance, but as I say, retirement has never been a goal.
K: Then what next?
D: When I retire…I’ll retire.
K: What is your greatest personal achievement in life?
D: I have sailed through this life without making too many enemies. I have helped many in my industry to make advancements in their careers. And I believe I have helped and encouraged people to cope with life’s challenges.
K: Thank you. And---

Happy Birthday, Sailor!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



24th July 2010

Where is Dag?
We have heard that Dag is no longer with Regent. Do you know if this is true? We have sailed previously with him and had hoped he would be on 2011 World Cruise.
20th September 2010

Where is Capt. Dag today?
I have sailed on two world trips with Capt. Dag plus many segments--He is everything your blog states. A wonderful person and Captain. When he left the Voyager in Cape Town this past April, with rumors of his retirement, I wondered if he had found another ship. Certainly many of his friends will follow him, but first where is he?
10th December 2010

capt Dag lives on!
Dag is now sailing with Seabourn on the Spirit. He is happy.
5th April 2011

my comment
for me is one of the best master in the word

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb