FINAL SEA DAY


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic » North Sea
August 14th 2011
Published: August 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

FALKIRKFALKIRKFALKIRK

CHILDREN IN A BUBBLE
The day was partly sunny as we crossed the North Sea to The Netherlands. I went to the embarkation show and got teary as usual as the crew sang Love in Any Language. Then it was packing and the Hold ‘Em tournament. Came in third and since there was no cash game that money is gone.
Grabbed a bite and a Guinness and was reading when the Captain announced that we have diverted to let a helicopter pick up a very ill passenger. Royal Air Force copter # NZ586 arrived and it was fascinating and frightening to watch the action. Of course my batteries died in the middle. The entire process took about thirty minutes. First the passenger’s wife was taken aboard by wrapping her arms and legs around one of our crewmen in a harness. Then the crewman was lowered back to the deck while the helicopter hovered.
Next a litter was dropped to the deck and the helicopter circled around while the patient was made ready. Then the helicopter hovered only a few feet above the deck and the litter was brought on board. During this time the top two decks were cleared as a precaution.
These airmen did
SCRABSTERSCRABSTERSCRABSTER

CASTLE OF MEY
and do a great job. Hey, do you think it might have been Prince Edward or Andrew?
It was sad to say goodbye to all my new friends. I was blessed to be sitting at the best table in the dining room. I couldn’t have asked for nicer tablemates. Dave, Barb and Liz my Happy Hour pals will be missed. I hope I meet Nan, Jeff, Marjorie and John and Armon my Team Trivia teammates on another cruise where we might be able to pick up more useless stuff.
I hate to be saying goodbye to Mingki and Nyoman who kept my stateroom ship shape and to Bayu and Putra who gave me cinnamon ice cream every night.
It’s been an amazing adventure. Now on the Amsterdam for a few days, dinner with Donna and home to Joe and Moseby.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

PRINSENDAMPRINSENDAM
PRINSENDAM

BEST TABLE ON THE DAM SHIP
GIANT SKUAGIANT SKUA
GIANT SKUA

WANTS A BITE TO EAT
PRINSENDAMPRINSENDAM
PRINSENDAM

BLUE NOSE SOCIETY


Tot: 0.343s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb