Arts Factory lodge


Advertisement
Oceania
February 28th 2015
Published: March 4th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I decided to move hostels for one night because I'd heard a lot of people saying that the Arts Factory was a really cool hostel and different to all the others so I wanted to see what it was like. I checked out of my hostel at 10, went to Woolies to get some food and then got the shuttle to the bus stop so I could get the shuttle to my new hostel. I got there about 10 but check in wasn't until 2 so I sat with two girls who has also just arrived and had to wait for check in. When we checked in it turned out that me and one of the girls, Natalie, were in the same room. We were staying in what was called a Lakeside Cottage which was like a little wooden cottage which was really cute. I am pretty sure when I booked I asked for a Wagon which was a normal dorm inside a wagon basically but they must have either made a mistake or upgraded me for free because this cottage had its own kitchen and ensuite which I defineitly didnt pay for but I wasn't going to complain! I spent most of the afternoon looking around the campsite and then sat on our porch reading my book and talking to my roomies. Me and Natalie eventually decided that we were going to go out so we got some wine and went and sat on the benches in the main area of the hostel. We were going to head out about 11 but then it strated chucking it down with rain so we gave up on that idea and just went to bed.

As usual check out was at 10 this morning but my bus wasn't until 6 because I wanted another day in Byron bay. I was going to stay at the hostel all day because I wanted to spend more time there but there wasn't really anything going on so Natalie and I went to the beach for a few hours. I spent the afternoon on ghe porch again, I loved it sat there just chilled out its so peaceful and relaxed. If I went back to Byron Bay I would definitely stay at the Arts Factory for longer.

I arrived in Surfers Paradise about 7 and ended up going to the same hostel as two girls who had been in my hostel in Coffs Harbour- it still amazes me how many people I've seen more than once! I had dinner and then met up with Vicky and Felicity from Byron Bay to try and get tickets for the theme parks here. The shop shut at 9 so we had to run there but Fliss couldn't remember where it was so ended up running past it and it was closed by the time we found it which was annoying. We needed a drink after all that running so went to an Irish bar by the beach front just for one. I managed to seriously burn my stomach at the beach earlier so wasn't feeling that well so didn't stay out for long.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb