Close to Home


Advertisement
Oceania
November 13th 2014
Published: November 13th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I don't consider myself well-traveled. I have only been to a few counties besides my own, none of which are beyond the Pacific region. However, I live in a place where people from all over the world travel to. I have decided that before I go off to explore in Europe or South America, I should explore my roots and start by examining my own country. It shouldn't take long seeing as my country is the size of the pea compared to the rest of the world. It is just a dot on the map but oh what a dot it is! Palau is known only by elite scuba divers and snorkelers and is a heavy-weight when it comes to environmental conservation. Because of it's dependence on the tourism industry it has been kept pristine and immaculate. It may not occupy a large space in the world but it occupy's a lot of earth's marine biodiversity. For this reason, it has been named the seventh underwater wonder in the world. I personally grew up in the ocean so it's nothing new to me, however Palau's attractions are not only found in the ocean but in it's rich history and culture as well. According to the Palau Visitors Channel there are tons of places I haven't visited. Thus, I will have to inspect all these places and blog about them before I go off on an adventure to Egypt, Czechoslovakia, or Jamaica. I will think of it as a way to season my blogging skills before I hit the big leagues.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb