Word up!


Advertisement
Oceania
April 8th 2006
Published: April 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

QueenstownQueenstownQueenstown

Aerial shot on the gondola overlooking the activity capital of NZ!
Sweet As Bro!

Just arrived in the small town of Kaikoura, a shortish drive away from Christchurch. Not much here really but its a popular backpacker spot as its renowned as a great spot for swimming with dolphins, seals and whale watching.

Had an absolutely fab time in Queenstown. I expected to see a really tacky, commercial town but it was quite the opposite. Bumped into a guy I met in Surfers Paradise when I stayed on Main Beach in December which was bizarre (he was one of the guys I sumo wrestled with). I bottled out of doing the various bungy jumps, particularly the Nevis which is the 2nd biggest in the world. Instead I went River Boarding and what can I say? I started the day optimistic and finished it a broken man. Freezing cold waters, Grade 4 rapids which included being sucked underwater for a few seconds and resurfacing unable to breathe before getting battered by the fierce currents again! Smashed my knee on a rock, managed to get cramp in both legs which was absolutely agonising and so all in all, I decided that Riverboarding wasnt for me....I'm a wounded soldier!

Something much more
Lake Pukaki Lake Pukaki Lake Pukaki

From Queenstown to Christchurch
fun (and cheaper!) was luging. Basically similar to Go-Karting but you just race your mates down a steep track and take each other out, or you can do it like Marge Simpson.... Had quite a few nasty crashes on the way but it was a great laugh.

Left Queenstown Friday morning and returned back to Christchurch for the night to see the Canterbury Crusaders take on the Sydney Warratahs - 1st v's 2nd! We of course supported the mighty Crusaders who ended the night victorious winners, 17-11. It was great fun.

So I'd say thats about it for now. Will be in Wellington tomorrow evening for 2 nights so this is my last day in the South Island of New Zealand. If the North Island is half as impressive ill be happy. Sweet As!

Richard.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Evil RiverEvil River
Evil River

Went Riverboarding further down this river..no rapids here though!


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb