Preparing for "the island" - Maud Island Conservation Holiday


Advertisement
Oceania
July 19th 2009
Published: July 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Havelock - no chocolate after 6.30pm!

I'm off tomorrow to spend 5 days and 4 nights on a refuge island in the Marlborough Sounds - which is on the north of the south island. People are not allowed on this island, without special permission as such from the DOC (dept of conservation). I arranged the trip - or conservation holiday as it's known before i left home.

I'm not exactly sure what i'll be doing on the island, but the DOC give a brief discription on their web site.

http://www.doc.govt.nz/getting-involved/in-your-community/volunteer-programme/volunteer-programme-by-region/nelson-marlborough/maud-island-te-hoiere/

I'm staying tonight in a 4 bed room in a hostel in a small village called Havelock. I was told when i checked in that there was another girl who was going to "the island" staying in the room too. This evening when I was packing up my stuff to get ready to take over, she came in. Guess where she's from? DUBLIN! Out of the 10-12 people allowed on the island, there are 2 Irish! Typical! Can't get away from them!

My preperation has involved lots of washing and lots of cleaning, i'm going to be going through a pretty strict quarantine process tomorrow morning at 8am. They need to make sure we're not harbouring any small fugitives, mice, rats, possums etc which would harm the protected birds on the island. Also things like weed seeds are dangerous to the set up they have over there, so we have to make sure none of them are hiding in the laces of our boots or on the velcro straps of our jackets. I'm a bit nervous about what tomorrow morning will bring...but i'm sure it'll be worth it!

First thing in the morning I have to make an emergency trip to the shop to buy chocolate. When i went on the supply hunt this evening at 6.30pm everything was closed, it is that small of a village. I don't think i could survive a whole week without the magical substance...i'm really struggling tonight as it is!

I'll fill you in on the details of my trip when i return at the weekend...



Advertisement



29th July 2009

Looks like fun
Hi Jen, You look like your having fun over there. Some of the pictures you posted are fantastic. The sceneary out there is like its a different world. The pictures from Irish Week look fun too, i'm not so sure the spud shot glasses would take off over here though as it would be hard to keep them for any length of time. All is fine back home in Ireland, Its raining, its sunny, the usual mix of Irish weather. Everyone at home is fine. Oh by the way its 20 days until the bar exams. I am counting down because I am shitting broken glass. Im not looking forward to them as there supposed to be quite hard but sure we'll see how it goes. Take care and I'll talk to you soon. I'll check back to you in a few days to see whats new with you. Henry.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb