Academic stimulation


Advertisement
Oceania
June 29th 2009
Published: June 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

What an academic and physical week it has been....
First it was a conference for half a day on responding to challenging situations with families, set at the International hotel in Mt Gambier and a great chance to network with other health people. I even made a contact for the local English home tutoring and migrant services, which i intend to follow up on this week. Another means to meet people!
But the academia did not stop there, no, but extended to a quiz night held at the St mary's centre at Boandik lodge. This is an elderly care facility which Shaun's Mum works at, and was in aid of raising money for a fish tank/ aquarium i the dementia ward, a great cause. I always find fish watching relaxing, although it is even more thrilling when you catch them!

The physical side.....got another ride in to Suttontown and Mil Lel, north and east of Mt Gambier, amongst the rolling hills and animals. But the map was horribly wrong in one part such that I ended up rambling down this white/ brown road and turned right into.....a swamp, literally. It is called Black Swamp road and it does not exist. I asked some locals who had what looked like wallabies hanging from their farm fence,a nd they redirected me from Red Hill road onto the main highway from Casterton, 15km from town. On my return I made sure that the tourist centre knew of it, and they were very surprised. Seems that I am becoming an active local, which on the law of statistics and averages, is a rarity. After all, I learnt today that Mt Gambier is one of the 4 fattest cities in South Australia (along with Whyalla and Port Pirie)...I digress, all I can say for the last 15km is thank god for a tail wind!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Black Swamp road?Black Swamp road?
Black Swamp road?

This is before the sand bog and strewn logs...


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1022.5kb